Learn about edible landscaping & ecological design in Victoria, BC.

Country

Canada

Favourited 58 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    40
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/10/2019

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: 1 week or less

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *️️*️️ Our guest room is booked until April 2018.

    We (Tayler & Solara) run an edible landscaping & ecological design business in Victoria, BC. We teach permaculture courses, design & build edible gardens and manage regenerative landscape projects.

    Our headquarters is a home-based backyard, permaculture-inspired garden in Vic West, less than 10 minutes biking from downtown. We also have a 3 year old daughter who loves to play in the garden and at the parks nearby. We have just moved in and are renovated the edible gardens, but it will begin pumping out veggies and fruit soon. Some winter veggie have been transplanted.

    While we do have a business, the focus of the workaway will be non-commercial, mostly working in our home food gardens and playing with our 3-year old daughter.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We provide travellers with:

    - a safe, respectful place to sleep, eat good, mostly organic food
    - learning opportunity for those interested in edible gardening in the city, including
    - a great location with which to explore Victoria

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who:

    - loves children and is happy to play with and look after our 3 year old daughter (there are many parks within walking distance)
    - is willing to contribute to meals and cleanup (shared responsibility)
    - enjoys edible gardening and nursery work (weeding, planting, mulching, seeding, setting up cloches, etc..)
    - can help with duties related to urban chickens (we'll be getting some in late February/March and will be getting the coop ready in February)

    We're looking for 5 hours per day and can be flexible with timing based on your desired schedule.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Spanish, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room and bathroom in basement of 2 story house that doubles as our office. The guest bedroom has low ceilings (5'11'') but the rest of the house is fine.

    We may request access to the office occasionally between 9am and 5pm, but mostly we work offsite.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are 15 minutes walking to downtown Victoria, 5 minutes biking. We can lend a bike when we're not using it and point you in the direction of many urban agriculture and permaculture sites in and around Victoria, some of which we've been involved in.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 165628214979