Learn about life on a Fertilizer-free organic farm in Miaoli, Taiwan

Country

Taiwan

Favourited 29 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    HI. Dear Workawayers.
    If you love organic food system, please send your application.

    I’m an organic farmer here in Taiwan, It’s a fertilizer-free organic farm and keep many kinds of seeds by myself.
    I have been accepting helpers since 2016. I love to share my experience about organic farming and food system and accompany cats, chickens in my farm.

    I have to sell vegetable to organic farmers market every Saturday.
    The market is the oldest organic farmers market in Taiwan.
    You could go with me if you want and see the market

    We would love some help for 4 hours a day, 3 hours in morning and 1 hours in afternoon.
    We don’t help on rainy days, Saturday and Sunday because Sunday is my family day.
    You will live a house in my farm. You will not live with us.
    But I prepare a bicycle for you to shuttle from farm house to my house.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Animal Care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am a small household farmer in Taiwan so I don't have too much extra for you.
    When you in my farm, you will feel culture of Taiwan and learned from me, like

    1. Organic farming knowledge.
    2. Language exchange.
    3. How to operation a fertilizer-free farm.
    4. To know farmers market in Taiwan.
    5. Learn about Food processing.
    6. Seed Conservation.
    7. Learning local farmers knowledge and share your experience and see the markets
    8. See the local areas and explore

  • Help

    Help

    Tasks depends on season and most of them related to farming.
    Help in the farm involves planting, harvesting, mulching, weeding, feeding our cats & chickens, and cutting grass etc.
    I plant kinds of fruits to make jam when harvest, you could help me to cut, peel or cooking.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Japanese: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have one suite with double king size bed in my farm house.
    You will live at farm house for you or your friends and no need to share a room with other people you don't know.

    3 Meals will be provided a day.
    Breakfast at farm and lunch dinner at my home.

    Amenities provided
    - WIFI (when eat at my home, not Farm house)
    - Bluetooth audio
    - Electric fan
    - Mosquito net
    - Quilt, pillow, Blanket
    - Organic shampoo, organic shower gel
    - Washing machine
    - Dry machine
    - Fridge
    - Hair dryer
    - Bicycles
    - Electric kettle
    - Small oven
    - Electric cooker

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a small town in Zhuolan Township Miaoli County., nearby Fengyuan county which belong Taichung city.

    I can pick you up at Fengyuan Railway station.

    Feel free to ride a bike or bus to tour my county attractions when day off, or you can hang out with me and my family.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 165575188469