Developing our land for a Retreat Centre in Northland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 679 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    23  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    12/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 5 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Spring 2019 update. Current work: Establishing a large new vege garden. Putting in a watering system. Making a fero-cement kitchen (arty/building people needed for that), clearing up a large shed and a some fallen trees, looking after recently planted trees, renovating a small shed to use as a bathroom for guests.

    Chris and Julia live in a 160 acre eco-village with their daughter Sophie close by. We have travelled extensively and still do. Julia is a homoeopath, ecstatic dance teacher, Shaman and runs a community centre (Kalikalos in Greece in the NZ winter). Chris is currently developing our land and involved in XR but is also a professional yacht skipper, ex organic farm advisor, ex Greenpeace captain and charity CEO. Both of us have done lots of personal development. We like to have a good level of communication with guests and appreciate spending time with people who are curious and engaged in their own self-development.

    We are currently developing a block of land and doing some building to create a space that we hope to use as a Retreat Centre in the future. We also have lots of general gardening work where we live. The development block has amazing views of the sea and is close to some of the best beaches in the country, including Sandy Bay which is a good surf beach where you can hire boards and get lessons. Our work is varied so if you want more details ask when you book.

    We work 5 hours a day, 5 days a week but also offer 4 hours a day, 6 days a week, which gives longer afternoons off to go to the beach :)

    Because we are very concerned about electromagnetic radiation (Julia campaigns against 5g) we use ethernet cables for internet and do not use wifi. We have ethernet to USB adaptors to loan but they seem a bit unreliable. You may prefer to bring your own adaptors if you use a Mac. Phone data reception is OK.

    Because our kitchen is very small and a bit chaotic in the mornings we have set up our guest accommodation for self-catering breakfasts. We supply the basics: milk, yoghurt, bread, spreads, porridge, fruit, raisins, seeds and nuts for muesli and eggs if the chickens are being co-operative. If you have special needs for breakfast please BYO. We eat mainly vegan.

    Minimum stay 1 week, please. We have nice accommodation for 2 but can take more people if you have a van or tent.

    This is a good place for people converting vans for their trips as we have a good little workshop and a range of tools.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Charity work
    Art project
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    They can learn about community, developing land and running organisations.

  • Help

    Help

    All sorts, gardening and general smallholding work, building, maybe some cleaning or painting if we can't work outside. Check our profile for updates.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    A sleep-out, which has kitchen facilities for breakfasts. A double mattress and a single is also available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We love having people to help us but sometimes we are very busy so we like people who can look after themselves and show initiative.
    Chris is an activist, especially about climate change, human rights and sustainable development, currently involved in Extinction Rebellion. Julia is more spiritually focused. We both try hard to make a positive difference in the world.
    We live on the most gorgeous bit of coast in NZ. It's 3.8k to Matapouri beach and we have a couple of bikes for guests.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week (flexible)

It can get pretty busy here, we work hard but know how to relax too :)
Tepee site
View from tepee site
Chris working on our land
Julia in Greece 2018
View from where we are going to build our retreat center.
Camp fires with local friends and travellers
Unless booked you can stay in out tepee, otherwise you stay in a sleepout near our house
Our local beach, 3.8k flat walk or bike ride from our place :)

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

















Host ref number: 1579722754a5