Come and join in the fun with a Family of 7 near Calgary, Canada



Favourited 326 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Description


    Hi there, I am a mom of 5 kids. My daughter is 23 and attending school in Denmark. My 4 sons, age 18, 16, 14, &11. My husband works often away from the home. We home educate our children, and travel to larger cities usually once per week. We live in a small town of 5000, and have a huge yard and garden which needs lots of work in the spring and summer. We live in a passive/solar home which we hope to change over to fully solar someday. We have animals, two dogs, 3 cats, and a bird. My kids are lots of fun, adventurous, and love meeting people!

    I also work as a "Doula" offering prenatal education, and physical and emotional support for moms and their partners throughout pregnancy, labor, delivery and the weeks to follow.

    I love to cook and would enjoy learning new dishes from your country. We mill our own grain for bread, make our own yoghurt, butter, cheese, and try to do as much fresh, wholesome cooking as possible.

    Come spring, we have a beautiful garden no area with rich soil that will need planting and weeding. We have many outdoor and indoor projects we'd like to tackle. We enjoy getting our hands dirty, and I love to be creative in the house as well as outside in the yard and garden.

    If you think you'd like to come join our family, please feel free to contact us and ask any questions you may have.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My vision is to have a home where people of all ages and background can come and find relief, comfort and peace. A refuge from the busyness and stresses of life itself. We like coming together as a family and community, accomplishing daily goals and routines together.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    It's great to have someone come into our family, and help us accomplish some of the tasks which are difficult to tackle when "dad" is away so much. Nothing too strenuous...mostly fun things that would take two adults to do.

    Lot's of little projects around the house....some sanding and re-staining of furniture, painting, building book boxes, bird houses, building a cobb oven and hopefully one day an outdoor sauna plus much more.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Danish: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am currently taking an online course in Danish and would certainly like to improve in it. My husband speaks Danish fluently. I would also like to brush up on my French and teach my boys. My oldest boys are learning Japanese and the second youngest is also learning Danish. I also have learned some American Sign Language and would be happy to learn more.

  • Accommodation


    I can provide you with your own bedroom. The rest of the house is shared.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Please.....NO smoking. I am very allergic.

    We live 45 minutes north of Calgary, 2 hours from Banff, and 2 hours south of Edmonton. 1 hour from Drumheller.

    We can accommodate most dietary needs, but if you are solely a meat eater, completely gluten free, or require extra foods for your specific needs, you may need to provide some of those foods for yourself.

    We eat a variety of good wholesome foods, grains, meats, fruits and vegetables.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have great wifi and would consider hosting a digital nomad. My guest room has a desk as well as some other quiet place around our property.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a long area on our street that is right beside our property for a vehicle or campervan.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    It would be great to have help for 5 hours/day, 5 days/week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 156837591151