Chett & Ella

  • Netherlands & Sweden
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    We are currently

    At home

  • Description

    Ella: I'm a student taking online courses and traveling to work, learn and play. I'm especially interested in projects promoting sustainability, human health & self-sufficiency within the local community.

    To any host I bring a willingness to work hard and get my hands dirty, as well as knowledge about permaculture after spending around eight months (collectively) as a farm hand around Europe.

    I see it as a part of the exchange to help around in the household, cooking and sharing stories and ideas.

    Chett: I feel inspired. I welcome challenges.

  • Interests

    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Farming
    Sustainability
    Languages
    Drawing & painting
    Politics / Social justice
    Self development
  • Skills and knowledge we'd like to share or learn

    We're interested in:  

    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Animal Care
    Charity Work

    Some knowledge of:  

    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Language practice
    Art Projects
    Helping with Computers/ Internet
    Teaching

    Able to teach about:  

    Gardening
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
  • More details about your skills

    Ella:
    To get into the specifics of farming:
    -Planting, weeding , harvesting, watering, storing of harvest
    -Construction (setting up two polytunnel greenhouses)
    -Maintenance of greenhouse plants
    -Operate a tractor
    -General knowledge about the concept and application of permaculture, polyculture, natural pest control.

    What else...
    -Cooking
    -Art (watercolor, sculpture, sketching; I'm happy to show you how if you're interested!)
    -An abundance of patience!

    Chett; high density small scale farming, large scale monoculture farming, general building, cooking, running day-to-day business operations, sailor, chainsaw, heavy machinery, general computer

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Age

    32 & 22

  • Nationality

    Swedish & Canadian

  • What else ...

    Ella,

    I spent six weeks in 2019 volunteering on an ecological farm in Extremadura, Spain. This introduced me to the farming methods and lifestyle and gave me a good base knowledge in the maintenance of a farm (weeding, harvesting, planting and more) as well as increasing my interest in the idea.

    Next, I traveled to the Netherlands and worked for six months on a family run farm which sells produce to the local community. They grow a wide variety of crops and incorporate many elements of permaculture in their farm. During my stay I deepened my knowledge of the maintenance of a farm and feel comfortable performing most of the practical tasks that need to be done.

    After a year in Canada I'm coming back home to Sweden. Sometimes the greatest adventures can be found back home.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements

Feedback


Friends

Photos

Feedback