1 / 4

Help us around the house and garden in the charming region of Calvados, France

  • Favourited 845 times
  • Last activity: 26 Feb 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    We are an English-speaking couple that have lived and worked in Normandy these past 20 years. As we are getting a bit older, we need your help to run our household, and for us to connect with the younger generation! We've got a big 4 bedroom home in the middle of the countryside, it's charming and idyllic and has lots of land and a big old garden, and it's only a few minutes drive to the beach and Normandy tourist destinations.

    The region we live in is famous for French cheese and apple cider, and vast beaches and half-timbered houses. We are a few minutes from the ritzy beach town of Deauville, the famous old port city of Honfleur and the charming village of Pont l'Eveque.

    We are nestled in the countryside with fantastic views of the rolling hills and distant sea. We have rows of apple trees and a vast garden, including a greenhouse where we grow our own vegetables and fruits.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Elderly Companionship
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Bob is a retired engineer and Margaret is a linguist. We've lived and worked all around the world and are happy to exchange views on the world and share our experiences with you.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for someone who is kind and caring, and willing to help around the house with daily tasks like cooking, cleaning and generally being a positive presence in our household. Our profile picture includes our wonderful grandson Henry (you might see him occasionally, but he lives in Paris!)

    Ideally you'd be staying with us for at least two months, and we are open to have people stay with us as long as they like if we are all happy with each other!

    We offer an allowance for your help.

    Bob is physically disabled; we have nurses coming in the morning and physiotherapists a few times a week to take care of his needs, but we hope the workawayer can cheer him up and keep him company. Margaret runs the daily household affairs and would need help with things like cooking, laundry, garden projects, and housekeeping.

    We are generally happy to adapt to your experiences and your skills - if you are a carpenter, great, we have plenty of little projects for you! If you are into music, we are happy to listen! If you like cooking or gardening, ditto. Our ideal would be if you had experience caring for elderly people, we're no spring chickens so if you're a physiotherapist or a care worker, that'd be fantastic :)

    All in, the time spent helping us out varies but is is 3-4 hours a day each if there are two of you - the rest of the time is yours to relax and unwind. It would be extremely useful if you had a driver's license, though, as most places are accessible by car... although some more heroic helpers in the past have gotten around by bike :).

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You'd have your own upstairs bedroom with an en suite bathroom, and there's plenty of private space to relax and unwind. We generally have our meals together - breakfast, lunch and dinner - and that's all on us! We can also share cooking, it really depends on you and your passion :-)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We've had lots of people stay with us in the past, and we've made some beautiful friendships and lifelong bonds. We'd be happy to welcome you too, and get in touch if you have any questions!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    3-4 hours per day

Host ref number: 181876949572

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback


Join our friendly family and learn about agriculture in inhospitable environments in Aubigny Sur Nere, France
DIY eco-construction projects and gardening in our home in Belvézet, France