Come help out on my start-up farm project in N. Euboea, Greece

Country

Greece

Favourited 187 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

 
  2022 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I have been travelling and living at Eco Projects for the last few years. Most of the projects I have been involved in revolve around Permaculture.
    My true passion lies with Natural Building and that's mainly what I have been doing with my extra time. I now have the opportunity to tend to my own land here in North Euboea.
    I am setting up a small farm based on, mainly Permaculture. I am at the very beginning of this endeavor but confident of its success. Backed by years of careful planning and experience, I believe the project will flourish into a functional, profitable farm. It hosts students and enthusiasts looking to learn about basic regenerative agricultural techniques and demonstrate a clear transparent example of how to live in a healthy, profitable, self-sustaining habitat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about the local culture and cuisine.
    You will learn about olives in general. The local varieties, their care and uses. The production process.
    You will learn the basics of Natural Building.

  • Help

    Help

    1. Natural Building
    Dry Compost Toilet - I have almost finished this structure using Earthbags (Super Adobe), Cane and Cob, finished with a Lime Plaster. This project only needs some finishing touches.

    Outdoor Showers - Simple roofless structure using Stone, Cane and Cob with a Lime Plaster.

    Little Stone House - There is already a stone structure on the field that is in need of renovation. The tiled roof with its wooden beems has to be removed and reconstructed. The walls need to be plastered as well as creating the interior space i.e floor, furniture, kitchen etc.

    2. Olive Picking - In 2020 I took over my grandfathers fields which contain about 170 olive trees. They have been neglected for a few years and I am now in the process of bringing them to a productive condition. There is always some kind of tending to they need depending on the time of the year. Whether it be harvesting the olives by hand to make olive oil, making compost, mulching, pruning etc.

  • Languages spoken

    Greek: Fluent
    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be set up in a comfortable private room with a shared bathroom with hot water. This was my grandfathers house in the village that has just been renovated with all the comforts of a modern abode. Kitchen fully functional and accessible. All meals are provided. Full WiFi coverage.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The village life is pretty typical. Work in the morning hours and Tsipuro (the local spirit) from lunch time onwards. The area is surrounded by nature. Vast forests stretching down to beautiful beaches and peppered with waterfalls and mountainous peaks.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    There is an office space with a fully equipped desk (stationary, printer, scanner etc.) in a quiet private room with a strong WiFi connection.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Plenty of open space and already many campers in the area. Of coarse volunteers with their own accommodation are still welcome to all the amenities offered.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Any animal will be loved and welcomed except pet snakes.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 242553324111