1 / 4

Help a single mum with two children in Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain

  • Favourited 184 times
  • Last activity: 24 Feb 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    I am a single mum of two (a 14-year old boy and 11 year old girl). I lived abroad for 10 years. I like multicultural environment and I want my kids to experience it early in their life while being at home and hosting you is a way to do so. Contact us!

    I would highly appreciate someone with life motivation and interests who is willing to share the hobbies and passion with us and specially with the kids. It can be arts, nature, sports, music or any other hobby/passion you have... we would like you to share it with us in a fun and ludic way. Anything that can help in getting healthy habits to the kids and take them away from computer and displays. These experiences should contribute in their life understanding that the important things in life are not the material ones.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is hard to say how you can benefit to stay with us. I guess if you like how we are you'll enjoy being with us and share experiences with us and learn a particular life style.

    There are practical things like we are close to Barcelona in commuter train and you can visit museums and activities there. We live in a top apartment and have a big balcony and we are next to a huge urban park (see the picture), and next to Collserola park/forest.

    In addition to share apartment we can share activities. We are not a conventional family. We do many activities, and if I had partners we would do many more....

    We try to do many things and provide an intellectual environment to the kids with music experience and activities, outdoors, sports and others. I want them to learn that important things in life are not materials but emotional and social. I want them to enjoy friends and life with minimum monetary expenses and keep the basic needs to the real minimum to try to keep this planet livable but also to have an interior peacefulness of not needing/wanting what others need. They have to be in control of what is important in live and limit the external influence of what they should do. Well, I could continue....

    Also, it is important to have a healthy live. Hence sports, specially soccer (and ball games) are basic in kids live. Kids also go to the scoots, another interesting experience environment for the kids and family as a whole. We are at 2h driving distance from skiing stations, and less than 1h to the beach. You can visit Gaudi's architectures, Dali's, Miro museums or go to a F.C: Barcelona match or many other top rank sports. Next to us there is the CAR (high performance center for top sports training).

    Also, I am very earth conscious and I want my kids to be it too. So having a live to minimize waste is very important and I want kids to acquire this culture. The second step, it is recycling the waste (but first and most important is to avoid waste). Recycling is also giving/using second life to things that can still be used. The third is to control and minimize the resources/energy we use (water, light, gas, gasoline...). So our life is based on using the minimum required. Life live with minimal material things, being happy with an austere material life. I promote this and you'll need to follow it as I need kids to gather this philosophy of life.

    We would enjoy having people with personality and convictions in life, that's why this program makes sense.

    You are welcome to participate to our family activities, which are kids oriented with intellectual purpose but entertaining. You can experience the family life from a quite active and intellectual family. And we invite you to participate in the family activities and propose us your interests and we'll propose you ours to join when you feel doing so.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    As single mum, with no family support, I need support with the kids and in the housework. Babysitting needs are higher in July and September, as kids do not have school. You'll be expected to babysit and/or help in the house about 3-4 hours a day. The exact schedule and timing and tasks we can discuss exactly depending on current needs.

    I have vacation in August then at that time there is no babysitting needs, but we can still have a cultural exchange if interested. And I always have pending work to be done at home, such as arrangements or similar. I want the kids to learn English in a natural environment by having English spoken (preferably native) people at home. So, I would like someone who can speak in English all the time with us so that the kids learn it naturally. We speak Catalan and Spanish, and the mother speaks fluent English too. The kids are able to understand some English too. They are just starting at school with French too.

    Having a driving license is quite important as kids need to be taken from here to there with short period of time as they take many activities, specially sports, that may have tight schedules.

    During babysitting it is time for lunch or dinner you'll be required to cook as needed. You could also help with house work, doing little maintenance or big ones (depending on your profile). We’ll discuss. However, I cannot rely on this setting for a day-to-day functioning. So tell me when you want to come, what experience you want and with your profile and ours we can find the way to make it happen together.

    As I said in the first section, the big part is to have passion and motivation in something we can have in common and you can help me to teach the kids to appreciate it.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    Catalan: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    Interested in talking in English at home for the kids to learn it in a natural setting.

  • Accommodation


    You'll have your own bedroom with shared bathroom. It is only for one person but if situation requires for another partner in a sporadic basis you can use the couch or we can arrange in the bedrooms in a different form. Temporarily, there may be more than one visitor/workawayer at home.

    I arrange the apartment and our life to promote having people at home, instead of prevailing to have a perfect fancy apartment. Our apartment is a place to live, play, and share experiences. We are not prepared to host guests with formal expectations. Think as sharing apartment. You'll have your private bedroom and your space in the kitchen to cook for you and all pots and pants to do it... and kids will be around with their games, toys and activities.

    The arrangement is that you get accommodation with no meals included. This is like sharing and apartment. In exchange I request 3-4 hours a day on average (5 days a week). The reason is that including the meals means having the commitment to cook every meal and this is not the case at home. I arrange the meals freezing food for following days. So when there is no time to cook there is homemade food (frozen or in vacuum) to eat for the kids.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We encourage you to contact us to learn more about us and each other and to visit us for a period when it makes sense. Tell me what experience you would like and why you think we may fit/enjoy together and we take it from here. Who knows, we may identify some points of common interests so you decide to visit us for a period or take the experience to something completely different.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited access to internet. So you can use wifi with no limitations. I do work from home when I can.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    About 15 hours a week arranged in 3-5 days

Host ref number: 982143681334

Feedback (1)



Help us out at home in the city of Valencia, Spain
House/Finca sitting in Mallorca (Llucmayor), Spain