Help out on a small family farm and forest school in Scotsburn, Canada

Country

Canada

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Last activity

    26/11/2021

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    *** Due to being a public facility working with youth we require that you be double vaccinated against Covid-19 and be able to show proof. Thanks for understanding.

    We are a busy family living on a small hobby farm in rural Nova Scotia. We are working towards using sustainable and permaculture based methods to feed our family and community and educate youth about where their food comes from. We are home to Kristin and Scott Ross and a collection of free range animals and children. (We have 4 children living at home ranging in ages from 8 to 14, 4 dogs, 2 barn cats, chickens, rabbits, sheep, cows, and honey bees).

    We are also home to the a forest school (brand new in spring 2021), a non-profit nature based outdoor education centre for youth. We ran Nature Immersion Camps in summer 2021 and are currently offering year round programming for school aged children. We’re also working on developing our facility and are beginning to host a variety of school and community groups.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love our home in rural Nova Scotia and look forward to sharing it with you. Come experience a full life on the farm, getting to know your hosts, relaxing on beautiful beaches, ski or snowshoe in the winter, enjoy many local adventures, museums, restaurants, festivals and local Maritime culture and hospitality.

    While staying with us you may have the opportunity to learn about farming, gardening, cooking, preserving food, trail building, general maintenance, running a non-profit organization, working with children, maybe how to play an instrument, and practice your English language skills.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    We are looking for general help around the farm, caring for animals, barn work, house work, fencing, building projects, etc. We are also looking for help at the school facility, trail building, construction, maintenance, etc. Depending on your interests, experience, and willingness to complete a Criminal Record Check, we may also use your help working with children at the school.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We speak English at home and most of us can speak basic French. We would love the chance to practice our French and are happy to help you practice your English.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two lovely private bedrooms available in our home. The bathroom is shared but only with one other person. We also can offer accommodation in a tiny camper close by the farm or the option to tent on the property if you prefer. There is a pristine outhouse available if you are camping.

    A family dinner will be served each evening which you are encouraged to join us for. Breakfast and lunches will be prepared independently but food will be provided for you to help yourself to. If you enjoy cooking, preparing a meal occasionally would be a great way to help out.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have many gorgeous sandy beaches 10 minutes away with the “warmest waters north of the Carolinas”. We also have many local tourist attractions, quaint local spots, hiking trails, swimming holes, and adventures we would love you to get to experience during your free time. We have amazing mountain biking trails close by and are 1 hour from the ski hill. You are welcome to borrow bikes, canoes and kayaks or other camping gear to explore during your free time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have decent internet and lots of cozy spaces to work from.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have lots of wide open spaces and woodland to camp out in and make your own while you’re here.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We would have to discuss what kind of pet and decide based of how we think your pet would get along with our farm animals and pets.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 154877878157