Stop by our lovely, 7-acre family owned property for a bit. It's very lush here with tall trees, meadows and trout ponds, BC, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 28 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    55.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Our family owned acreage is just a five minute walk to. Kootenay lake. Over the years we've had many travelers stop in to share our land and their ideas. Learn about organic gardening, Rainbow Trout and community projects. We love to garden and landscape but always take time for exploring the local mountain trails.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco Projects

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cecilia and I know a lot about the local mountains and wildlife. I've lived here 50 years so understand the area well, the lake, beaches and trails. We have a prolific garden so if you need to know how to grow things just ask. We've traveled a lot so are always interested in swapping stories. Our community of Procter is located in one of the most successful community forests in Canada, so if you're interested in that, or other community organizations, we know how to organize here!

  • Help

    Help

    Currently I could use help fixing fences and landscaping around some trout ponds. Once the landscaping is done we will need to plant pasture seed. There is always garden weeding to do around fruit and veggies, or cutting and splitting some firewood. We have a wood shop with lots of tools so maybe you can build something? We're always coming up with new ideas.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There is a separate, small cabin near the main house for independent accommodation. . It's beside a small steam and pond. It has power and hot and cold running water. There is an outhouse and outdoor shower and full outdoor kitchen under a roof shelter so you can live independently. There is laundry facilities at the main house you can use.
    We will provide for you breakfast and lunch groceries so that you can make whatever you like, then at dinner time, we will provide groceries or cook together.
    We often have other guests too, mostly family and friends who are neighbors so there are often social gatherings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    If you want to check out Kootenay lake, there is a small private beach down below our place where you could launch our paddle board. We also have a bike or two you could borrow. There is a store one kilometer away and a beautiful beach side park, ball fields and a bike park only 4 kilometers down the road.
    Nelson is a cool town to check out too when you have a chance. It's a 45 minute drive away. There is a lot of live music there as well as good restaurants and a thriving arts community. Of course right now, live music is pretty limited, but restaurants are finally open.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can hook you up to power and water and we have an outhouse available if you need it. It's a private area by a pond and pasture.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Only pets that don't chase livestock or kill birds. Must be non aggressive.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day.


Host ref number: 998399293457