Come and help an artistic host with not enough hours in the day, near Urciers, France

Country

France

new host  

Favourited 7 times


  • rating

    Host rating

    Not yet rated
  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    06/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in a very rural setting in the centre of France 5.5km from our nearest small town and 17km from a bigger town with all the usual amenities. At home we have gardens, vegetable patch and a poly-tunnel. There's always plenty of work to be done in the garden, (weeding, planting, mowing, hedge trimming etc) as well as general maintenance, (painting and decorating) - none of it is heavy or difficult. We could do with extra help a certain times of the year to keep it all under control as there's just me (Debi), my Dad (John) who's in his 80s and my teenage daughter (Caity).
    We are a friendly easy going family and next door is our lovely French neighbour, Gérard. We've lived here many years and would love to share our local knowledge with any travellers visiting us.
    I'm an eco-artist, and work from home. I do all sorts of creative activities like eco-printing with plants, felt making, painting with natural pigments, sewing and textiles and working with copper wire. I don't have a lot of time on my hands to do all the gardening, and my spare time is taken up with cooking for the family - so anyone who likes to garden and/or cooking will be exceptionally welcome.
    We have a few chickens, ducks, a cat and two puppies.
    Our neighbour has some sheep in his fields around us...and then we are surrounded by more fields, hedges, and some woodland.
    Around us we have swimming lakes, good cycling and walking country. It's rural, peaceful and can get darned hot in the summer. The local towns and villages are mostly medieval in age, so there's plenty of historical places to visit.
    We are English speaking; my French is OK and my daughter is fluent. We are happy to help with spoken French language skills. And, of course, if anyone French speaking visits us, we are very eager to learn.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We try to run an organic garden, and like to grow all sorts. Your host is an eco-artist; so for those creative travellers out there, you could benefit from some play time in the indoor or outside studios. You could have a go at things like eco printing with plants, felt making, painting with natural pigments etc

  • Help

    Help

    We have a house in a rural setting in central France and need help with general garden maintenance and maybe a bit of redecorating from time to time in the house. Our veg garden is nearly all above ground, in boxes, so no heavy digging. We have a poly-tunnel. Then we have other garden areas, so maybe hedge cutting and lawn mowing, weeding etc
    In and around the house, painting and decorating sometimes required. Oh and we are always happy for anyone who likes to do a bit of house work, or cooking. All pretty easy work, nothing too heavy.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two spare double bedrooms each with their own private shower room. There's a TV lounge too as well as a conservatory that has a fridge, tea and coffee making facilities etc...just for guests...as we understand the need for a bit of "me" time away from hosts.
    You can help yourself to breakfast, and usually make your own lunch (we provide the food of course); or sometimes it will be all together - but you'll always get a nice cooked meal with the family once a day.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When you are not busy helping us around the place - you can relax at home...there's plenty of space. In the warmer months we have a swimming pool. We have a couple of bicycles and our nearest village with pub/restaurant etc is 5.5km away (it's uphill on the way back though!) If you have your own transport (recommended, but not essential) there's lots of places to explore. There's not much in the way of public transport - but if we go out anywhere, you'll be welcome to join us. There's green lane walking direct from the door too.
    We tend to enjoy staying home, but if there's a local fete or brocante on, we'll usually visit it. We like to have the occasional meal out in restaurants too. We have a couple of young dogs and will soon be going walkies on a regular basis.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 151998721132