Need some help starting up my own little farm thing on Crete 20 km south of Heraklion in a village called Choudetsi,

Country

Greece

updated  

Favourited 676 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    126  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I am starting up my own little organic farm thing, since 2015, on Crete after having travelled and volunteered three years myself.

    The place is an olive grove of 1,6 ha (4 acre) with about 220 olive trees. I have planted fruit trees and am making a vegetable garden. I have 8 geese. Here are also two friendly dogs and a cat.

    The soil is very poor here and i'm trying to regenerate the soil by applying permaculture principles. Anyone with experience on this is always welcome.



    I prefer last-minute travellers because very often those who write me far in advance tend to change their plans and cancel, but you can always try:) and when i say last-minute i mean today or within a week, not much more. I am also willing to discuss with people who wish to stay long-term, a few months at least.

    Shower is outside. In winter there will not be warm water every day but you can take a warm shower in the caravan if you preheat the water.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It is in a village called Choudetsi or Houdetsi, 20 km south of Heraklion. There is a lot of things to explore around. It's 5 min walk to a cafe with wifi, a bakery and a grocery store, and 10 min walk to the village square with a restaurant traditional tavernas and cafes. Beautiful hiking routes as well. For bathing it is 40 min walk to a large lake or 10 min walk to a hotel with outdoor swimming pool free to use if you just buy a coffee or drink in the cafe.

    In the summer there are music seminars in the village, many international musicians, lots of people and free concerts every friday.

  • Help

    Help

    In december it's olive harvest. Pruning is in early spring some time, depending on the weather.
    Other times of year it's garden work, cutting wood, soil regeneration works etc...
    + cooking and shopping for us of course:)

    This year i want to start a food forest. Further work is to complete a retaining wall out of used tires. Further, there are always things to do in the summer.

    Hope to see you here:)

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Fluent: English, Norwegian, Slovakian. Less than fluent: German, French, Portuguese, Greek

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    There are two yurts and a caravan.

    The biggest yurt has a wood stove and a kitchen, this functions as common area. The smaller yurt has a double bed, two single mattresses and a gas heater. The caravan has a gas heater, beds for two and kitchen.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (5.0)




































































Host ref number: 149465498826