Relax in a hot spa on the deck after an afternoon of weed pulling and enjoy the city lights in Auckland, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 168 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    If you enjoy good food and cooking you will fit right in! Two small dogs, three alpacas and one fairly ancient but still moving and laughing human living on top of a hill overlooking the city invites you to share her life for a while. 20 minutes from airport and 30 minutes from city so works for just arrived or departing travelers. Essentially rural but urban too. Relaxed informal open plan home in gorgeous environment and spectacular views over Auckland . Comfy room with own bathroom and lounge. Work 4 hours ish (flexible as to how this happens) a day then spend your time at the beach, in the pool, hiking some great walks or off on the ferry to the city.
    Note: My lovely husband Brian who was such a great host (see refs) died suddenly on 1st August. I am going it alone. This is still a warm place and I welcome open hearted fun folk who are happy to help me maintain the property. Brian and I have really enjoyed the company of travelers and have shared a lot of laughs with many folk. It wont be the same of course but I will do my best to make your stay an enjoyable one.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    So far it our experiences with cultural exchange has been of mutual learning benefit and fun but maybe language practice and an idea of how a kiwi family lives day to day.

  • Help

    Help

    A skilled carpenter would be a bonus - there are a few small projects to be done and all tools here. Otherwise gardening (lots of it in spring), general maintenance, help with house cleaning, cooking, dog walking, pool and spa cleaning etc. This is mostly suited to outdoors inclined people as this is where most of the work would be.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own bedroom with king sized bed. Own bathroom. Separate lounge if wanting private space too. Or stay in large motor home on site with two big beds and all amenities. House is open plan with outside fireplace and relaxed seating area where we gravitate all summer and cook our meals on the teppanyaki and barbeque.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Close to buses and ferries for city trips or island hopping and sometimes a car available for exploring local beaches etc. Huge reserve (park) across the road and some lovely walking trails nearby. Shopping mall 7 minutes away.
    Happy to answer any questions you have.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Small dog that would be compatible with my two okay.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 hours a day but flexi how this done over a week.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)














Host ref number: 144736612536