AliceO87

  • United Kingdom
  • Login to see last activity

Badges (3)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Profile information

  • Travel information

    I am currently

    Travelling

  • Description

    I am a friendly, enthusiastic and open minded woman who loves to travel and try new experiences. I have been in Australia for a couple of years now, mainly living and working in a hostel in Agnes Water, QLD. I came to Darwin, NT a couple of weeks ago to see what the Territory has to offer! I would love to spend time in a quiet setting, experiencing new things and learning new skills. I do not mind getting my hands dirty and am keen to take part in various jobs.

    I like meeting new people and can generally fit into any environment. I love animals and nature and I strive to be with animals in their natural habitats. I am not a fan of zoos or many 'sanctuaries' which do not have the animals best interests at heart. I have volunteered with the Elephant Nature Park in Thailand, working with a remote hilltribe to educate and encourage them to keep their elephants rather than selling them to tourist agencies. I have also volunteered with the Orangutan Project in Borneo (a true sanctuary whose focus was the animals and rehabilitation rather than making money from tourists), mainly scrubbing cages in the hot jungle!

    I love to learn and will ask many questions! I am hardworking and like to do jobs properly, so you can be assured I will do my best at whatever task I am given.

  • Interests

    Nature
    Camping
    Yoga / Wellness
    Cycling
    Dancing
    Outdoor activities
    Hiking
    Van life
    Charity work
    Farming
    Gardening
    Sustainability
    Animals
    Books
    Movies & TV
    Music
    Astronomy
    Cooking & food
    Vegetarian or vegan
    Politics / Social justice

    show more
  • Skills and knowledge I'd like to share or learn

    I'm interested in:  

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Life at a Farmstay
    Eco Projects
    Helping around the house
    Animal Care
    Hospitality/Tourism
    Charity Work
    Language practice
  • More details about your skills

    I have a law and accounting degree and so I will bring an intelligent, organised and hardworking mind to your work away! I used to work in the NHS in England, managing clinical negligence claims, personal injury claims and inquests. My English is very good.

    I can cook and can drive manual (although I am not the most confident driver!) - I recently did a solo three week self drive around Tasmania and had the best time getting my confidence up and seeing the beautiful island.

    I have been assisting the manager of a hostel in Agnes Water, QLD for the last 2+ years and so have learnt the ins and outs of managing a hostel. I have been given some awesome reviews on the YHA website and booking.com!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Age

    34

  • Nationality

    British

  • What else ...

    If there is anything you would like to know, please ask. I had a work away profile from 2013 when I travelled Europe with a friend. We did not actually do any work aways and so this is my first time actively using this service.

  • Some more information

    • Smoker

    • Driver's licence

    • Allergies

    • Special dietary requirements
      I do not like cheese and mayonnaise. I try to eat vegetarian as much as possible but I do fail and eat meat more often than I would like! I have started eating seafood since being in Australia and learning to fish.

Feedback



Friends

Photos

Feedback