Help building in beautiful rural East Sussex, England. Come and You will learn about some building techniques.

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 176 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    02/11/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    16

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 8 days

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live in an old house which we are gradually renovating, using many traditional materials and skills. We are very excited to have just started building an extension to our house. We grow vegetables. We have two children Oisin and Arlo, who are both at secondary school.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn about some building techniques. We like to grow organically, so anyone with gardening experience is most welcome. We love to cook and eat and are generally pretty sociable, though in the evenings we prefer to have family time. We can show you round the local area and take you for a swim if you're here in the summer.

  • Help

    Help

    We are specifically looking for help with building and helping with our home from January to August 2019.

    We are in the early stages of an exciting extension/refurbishment work so skilled hands are very welcome. Some of this will include roofing, carpentry and general labouring. We always have plenty of jobs to do whatever your level of experience.

    Other daily tasks might include: lighting fires, chopping wood, cooking lunch for volunteers, assisting with building tasks, growing vegetables, gardening.

    It would work well to have a couple, but single volunteers are welcome too.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a cosy caravan, at the edge of our property. It backs onto the field. It has one double bed, a small kitchen and a compost toilet. Shower, bathroom facilities, and washing machine are in the family house.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are situated in a village halfway between Lewes and Uckfield which both have rail links to London. We live five minutes walk from the river Ouse, where you can swim in the summer. There are beautiful walks all around.
    You can get buses from the village into Lewes,Uckfield or Brighton. Our village has a pub, a village hall, a football pitch. We're not far from the sea- Brighton or Seaford. We have bicycles which can be used by volunteers.

    We are very happy to have a Skype conversation to answer any questions.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Host ref number: 137275193514