Help at an eco-hotel and with horses in Valle De Bravo, Mexico

Country

Mexico

updated   Last minute

Favourited 1644 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    126  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/10/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 6 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
 
This listing is a Last minute host. They have let us know that they are looking for help immediately as well as at other times of the year.
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a very nice community. There is always people visiting from all over the place but also they are chill farm days. We started this projects around 6 years ago because we like to eat healthy and we love animals. We have goats (for cheese), horses, chickens, dogs, turkeys, ostrich, peacock and some other wild animals like a lot of fireflies in the season.

    Edgar is acupuncturist and he lives part in town and part in the farm. He knows a lot about plants and alternative medicine.
    Eric is the one that keeps the place working as a general organizer. He knows about hospitality, business and horses. He studied marketing and he works with different boutique hotels around Mexico.

    At our eco-ranch we have 10 full time local employers who each specialise in certain ranch activities such as working in our greenhouses, construction, property maintenance, or caring for and training the animals. Although the managers of the volunteer program speak fluent English and French, the local employees only speak Spanish which offers a great opportunity for those trying to improve their Spanish skills.

    In terms of the volunteer accommodation offered: there is an entire volunteer house complete with a fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms, a little roof top gym that we are building, wood-fired pizza oven, numerous seating areas and two dorm-style and two private sleeping rooms, there are a number of private rooms else where on the ranch and a new volunteer building is currently in construction.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Charity Work
    Art Projects
    Help with Eco Projects
    Teaching
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    Hospitality/Tourism
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The people that works here are really nice and you can have real Mexican friends. We have a soccer team of the farm that plays every Sunday.

    In this city live many interesting people, local artists of pottery and many other things. It is a place where you get to all the places walking, the people are very friendly ... We have a lake where many sports are practiced.

  • Help

    Help

    The help that we need depends on the volunteer. There is a lot of projects going on in the farm.
    The vegetable garden needs lots of help If you enjoy getting your hand a "little bit" dirty, the garden its really nice. We are always building new things with the politic of using what we have. We recycle a lot.
    There is one person per area (animals, garden, construction, hotel, plants...). So, you can decide with who do you want to help.
    If you have any idea that we can do in the farm, is always welcome.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    You can contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a volunteer house in the farm and when its full, we have some cool little spots close to the horses. Its a really nice place in construction.
    We give you a house to live with everything you need but everybody buys his own ingredients to cook. There is a shop 5 min walking from the farm that you can find a little bit of everything there for a good price.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We have horses and lots of animals. We have people working with us, so you can meet people of the region.

    We want volunteers to stay minimum 1 week and if you want to stay more than 1 month we decide here, to see if you like the place. We think that one of the most important things in life is to have a good attitude!!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Depend on the pet, because we have lots of animals.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 4 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (4.8)

Cultural exchange: (4.9)

Communication: (4.8)

















































































Host ref number: 13725937884b