Be with Horses, Hike, Explore in the Okanagan Shuswap Region of BC

Country

Canada

Favourited 223 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    22/02/2020

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a 20 acre 5 horse hobby farm located between Enderby and Salmon Arm in the North Okanagan Shuswap region of British Columbia. My husband Doug owns a successful heavy equipment construction company and I work part time as well. Our two children are ages 4 and 7, so our helpers must like children. We are a very active family with a large acreage, large home and plenty of work always needing to be done. Both my husband and I ride our horses competitively in barrel racing and team cattle penning and our childuren ride too. We love our home, our location and our lifestyle and would love to share our experiences with someone else.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Teaching

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for Spring-Summer 2015 help now..

    Our helpers need to be independent and able be on their own for the majority of the day as both my husband and I work during the day. Confidence to take on tasks and learn new way is important.



    Summer/Spring Helpers: mostly outdoor work as gardening, lawn care & planting flowers. I have a few painting projects as well. Cleaning the horse paddocks and shelters. Feeding the horses, taking horses in and out of pastures. Riding arena care like grooming it and rock picking. Seeding fields, stacking hay, watering, caring for horses, their tack and equipment. Other duties include housekeeping duties with multiple tasks and a variety of work. Housekeeping, baking cookies, cooking & general light duty maintenance. I serve good food and we try our best to make our home warm and inviting. Our son is in French immersion school, so any bit of French is always great too!

    **if you're a great rider we would let your ride our horses on a daily basis**

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is live-in. You will have your own bedroom with a queen size bed, large closet, dresser, cable TV, DVD and wifi internet. You will also have your own bathroom. There is NetFlix in the main family room too.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4

Taylor & Ayla on Shuswap Lake (10 mins from our home)
Summer backyard camp fire at home.
Floating down the Enderby River in the summer. (5 min drive from our home) You can see another view of the Enderby cliffs.
Our garden we built. Picture taken in early spring (April)
Our home in winter
View from the Enderby Cliffs. We have a great view of these Cliffs right from our home.
My horse Betta Bad and I barrel racing at the Canadian Finals.
Large upstairs living room with fireplace
The view from above our home where we ride our horses and go hiking
Part of the back yard at our home

Host ref number: 315527933474