Come and help with a permaculture project and housekeeping, centrally located in the historical town in Lichtensteig, Switzerland

Country

Switzerland

Favourited 228 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    29/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    120

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a family with 5 grown up children, of which one still lives with us. At the moment there are also 4 ducks, 5 chicken and a cat. The house is always open with our children and grand-children as well as friends going in and out. Everyone interested in perma culture and an inspiring, cultural, animal friendly surrounding is at the right place. We have a grand piano and some other instruments for those who like to play music. Our house with a big garden is located centrally in the historical town of Lichtensteig. It is a small town with lots of cultural events - you can go to a local jam session, to the theatre, to concerts, and there is a connection to an alternative life project with a workshop in an old factory. The region is rural, quiet, nature is close, so ideal for hikes and winter sports. By train it is about 50 minutes to the airport, 30 min to St. Gallen, 70 min to Zurich. Good public transport connections to all destinations.

    Wir sind eine Familie mit 5 erwachsenen Kindern, wovon noch eines zu Hause lebt. Ausserdem leben hier zur Zeit 4 Enten, 5 Zwerghühner und eine Katze. Wir haben ein offenes Haus, wo sowohl unsere Kinder mit Enkelinnen als auch viele Freunde ein und aus gehen. Wer sich für Permakultur interessiert, ein anregendes, kulturnahes, tierfreundliches Umfeld wertschätzt, ist bei uns richtig. Ein Flügel für Musikinteressierte sowie verschiedene Instrumente sind vorhanden. Unser Haus mit grossem Garten ist zentral im historischen Städtchen Lichtensteig gelegen. Lichtensteig ist eine Kleinstadt mit viel Kultur; hier kann man zur regelmässigen Jam-Session, ins Theater, in Konzerte, es gibt Connection zu alternativen Lebensmodellen. Ländliche Umgebung, friedlich, naturnah, ideal für Wanderungen und Wintersport. Ca. 50 Min. per Zug vom Flughafen entfernt. 3o Min. von St.Gallen und 70 Min. von Zürich entfernt. Gute ÖV Verbindungen in alle Richtungen.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Help

    Help

    Further development of the permaculture project with planting and maintaining, and designing a healing garden. Different jobs in and around the house. Renovation work, help with basic computer questions.


    Weiterentwicklung des Permakulturprojekts mit Bepflanzen und Pflegen des Gartens und Design eines Heilgartens. Verschiedene Arbeiten im und ums Haus. Renovierungsarbeiten, Unterstützung bei Computerfragen.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    French: Beginner
    Russian: Beginner

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private room in the main house



    Eigenes Gästezimmer im Haus

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Wir bevorzugen Workawayers für mindestens 2 Woche nach Absprache.

    We prefer workawayers for at least 2 weeks

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    max 25 hours with 2 days off

growing plants
Historisches Städtchen Lichtensteig
Permagarten
Glyzinie Tunnel
Help in garden and building a green house.











Host ref number: 288412475642