Help on our small organic farm, learn about permaculture in Daugavpils, Latvia

Country

Latvia

Favourited 107 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We have an organic small farm (14 ha) with 2 cows, ducks, chickens. There's beautiful lakes all around for swimming, fishing and watching sunrise.

    Now, We are doing clay floor in strawbale house, taking off yield, preparing permaculture garden for next year and need help to do all of this.

    We need to clean environment and barns as well.

    We are also in the progress of finishing rocket mass heater in a straw-bale house and need help to finish it :).

    We are a big family - with 5 children from 4 to 17 years old. There's also some household chores we need help in.

    We welcome anyone who wishes to come and stay, help and learn about Permaculture.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    General Maintenance
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Farmstay help
    Help with Eco Projects
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Permaculture, self-sufficiency, Latvian traditional songs, herbal teas if interested in the topic.

  • Help

    Help

    Please get in touch if interested! Really lot's of planting, digging, cleaning, firewood, woodcutting jobs...

    Planting and garden bed preparing is the main activity now in the spring. Collecting the spring herbs, too.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Latvian (Lettish): Fluent
    Russian: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    If you like a nature life, this is for you. There is a beautiful cottage - strawbale house for volunteers and Internet WIFI. No hot shower, but possible to organize simple washing in cottage, 1-2 times per week we make sauna. We provide things for bed, washing.
    Meals are organized together with the family, we are eating meat. We make local, partly home-grown, seasonal food. We can provide vegetarian meals (including our own milk/egs) as well, but could be problems with vegan food, especially in winter. So if You are vegan, You should buy needed specific products in bigger towns and take with Yourself...

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The life here is simple, basic village life, hence food is prepared on a hot fire-stove, there's a rocket stove and a nice sauna, but not hot shower.
    You can come by buss stright to our village. The closest big Town is Daugavpils. You can come to Daugavpils either form Riga or Vilnius (Lithuania) airport, because it is the same distance and travel cost...

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    Lot's of place around to put the van...

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5days a week



Host ref number: 133514721458