Experience life on a American farm! Missouri USA


United States

Favourited 78 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment


  • Badges

Contact Register

 Min stay requested: at least a week

  • Description


    Thank you for looking into our page! Our names are Tom and Sherry. We are farmers who have raised 5 children. We would like to welcome someone to stay with us and help with the garden and farm. We raise around 100 goats, 30 cows and calves, and a garden and orchard every year. Additionally, we work hard to keep a clean house and eat the food we grow. That said, we eat a lot of beef, vegetables and fruit and a little goat. The goats bring a lot of joy on the farm!

    At the farm, we would simply include you in our daily work. We are flexible on the hours that you could work. A suggestion would be to work half days five days a week or full days three days a week. You are welcome to eat with us as much as you want. It would be nice to have you stay at least a week. We would try to save special projects that particularly interest you for when you are here. Unfortunately, the time of the year sometimes tells us which work we must do. Our daily work includes the following:
    1) Making and cleaning up from two or three meals
    2) Feeding cats, goats, and cows

    Nearly everyday, we work on another project, depending on the time of the year. It would be great to have your help for these projects. Here are some examples:
    1) Planting the garden
    2) Tending the garden (weeding, making sure the plants grow correctly, adjusting fence to keep animals out, etc.)
    3) Moving hay for the cows
    4) Building or taking out fence for the animals
    5) Carpentry projects for the animals (building feeders, gates, etc.)
    6) Harvesting the garden or orchard (We have pear and apple trees; we grow corn, beans, spinach, lettuce, radishes, peppers, potatoes, beets, and other plants in the garden.)
    7) Canning and freezing the vegetables and fruits

    We have a large farm house, which we like to share with others. At the house, you will have a private floor of the house to yourself. That floor of the house has a private bedroom, private bathroom, a large living room, and a microwave and refrigerator. There is not a full kitchen, but right up the stairs is a kitchen that you can use. Also, if you're arriving by air, we can pick you up from the airport. That may be easiest as there is no public transportation to our farm except Uber.
    We would like to accommodate the goals and interest of a helper, while he or she learns how to develop a sustainable farm. We host our five kids, their spouses or friends, and our ten grandchildren for holidays, so we love having people around. Hope to see you soon!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travelers that accept our hosting will learn how to develop and maintain a self sustaining farm .that produces a variety of products to support a family. Including many vegetables, fruits, and goats and cattle. This would include all aspects of small farming operations. We would like to help our visitors learn English and our culture. The paid position would provide enough income to fund many local fun activities and travel.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Help


    No experience necessary. You'll be tasked to your level of comfortability. We need help with the daily chores of feeding our animals; all ages of goats, cows and calves. We also have a need for help in our vegetable garden. Some house cleaning and cooking could be helpful. We have such a variety of work, that we can adjust your duties and tasks to accommodate your capability and interest. We would like to host families that would like to work and play together on the farm. Many of the daily tasks are outlined above in the “projects and business” block.

    The help we need requires an ability to learn how to care for animals and work in a small vegetable garden. The farm work may require the operation of some farm equipment, like a tractor and skid steer (Bobcat). Previous experience is not required. You just need to be willing to learn. As an alternative to this outside farm work we could also accommodate someone who is intersted in helping with housework and processing food products from farm and garden.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English/ Google Translate

  • Accommodation


    We have a large farm house that will be your home. You will have a private bedroom and full bath and plenty of private living space. We would share our kitchen and dinning room. We would like to experience your cultural tastes as you experience ours. We will pay $7.50 per hour and you would pay $7.50 per day for meals. Lodging is provide at no cost for paid helpers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty of time off could be used to experience the many sights and activities near Kansas City Missouri, like sporting events, or historical sights that evolved as this country developed to the west. The historical Jessy James home farm is near by as well as one of the first farms and wool mills that was establish here in the early days. We have five grown children who visit occasionally and would love to share information about their international experiences. We are actively involved with our church and community and may offer interaction with other youth who would be intersted in your culture and experiences.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

private bedroom, good for family
guest living space
This is some of your private living space.
Looking for help in our family garden.
Lots of opportunity for fun and relaxation after a few hours of work on the farm.
Looking for help maintaining our home and lawn.
We look forward to meeting others who enjoy work on the farm and i the house.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Host ref number: 525138943155