Be part of our permaculture and community project in Nuremberg's countryside, Germany

Country

Germany

Favourited 51 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    11/12/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
Join now to contact this host
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hey nature lovers out there!

    We are a community of people, who partially grew up together or found each other through travels and others joys of life. The core of our group consists of:

    Lilly grew up on this farm, went away to the big city of Nuremberg with some stops living in Santa Cruz, CA and Bogotá, Colombia and lots of fun traveling time all around the globe, and finally decided to follow her roots back to the little countryside village "Kleinsendelbach". She studied Socio-economics, but as well teaches guitar and sings on weddings. On her travels in Cambodia, she met Juan. They fell in love with each other and the idea of someday starting an eco-community-project together.

    Juan is a Colombian fellow, a painting artist, martial arts practitioner and an agronomist engineer. Though his professional experience is mostly related to tropical climate, which we don't quite have here ( :-) ), he has been really devoted to learn the ropes of this hemisphere. He loves animals of all kind and likes to get dirty. To add to the Latin American mix, we have Cori, whose parents are from Venezuela.

    Cori studied Geography in Bonn, also traveled the southern hemisphere of this globe and has been looking for a project that gives her the opportunity to maintain a sustainable way of life, where she can apply her study-related knowledge and let out her artsy side. Combining these two, she is the main driver for our focus on permaculture, which is the core of our project. During her travels, she gained some wonderful workaway experience, which let us to invite you to our exciting project.

    Cori' all time best friend and Lilly's sister Leo is also occasionally part of the project as well as the mechanical and farming knowledge expert Georg, Lilly's and Leo's Dad. He knows how to fix every problem with almost zero money and quite inventive ideas.

    But now, let's get to the actual project:
    Like we said, the core of the whole idea is to turn this traditional family-owned little farm into a permaculture paradise. This year we have been working on experimenting with different field forms, compost strategies, mixed cultivations and planning the restructuring of the estate to create a community farm with a charming café, a seminar room to offer artsy, musical, crafty and spiritual education, and a little hostel. We want to combine environmental sustainability with an integrated community, may it be with our next door neighbors or a lama riding Peruvian gal or whoever will knock on our door.

    As you can see, we are right at the beginning of what will hopefully be a life time of fun, hard work, inspiring connections with people from all around the globe and sustainable way of living. Therefore, there is plenty of room for your input, may it be handy skills, getting dirty with us in the forest or on the fields, your creative ideas, but most definitely sharing a beer at the campfire ;) .

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care
    Art project

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    First of all you will definitely enjoy a tractor ride or two, learn the skills of ancient (who knows from which century) machines and tools that have been collecting dust here, creative solutions to practical problems and will experience using all your muscles everyday.
    On top you can learn some guitar skills from Lilly, work on your harmony singing, cook with regional self-produced veggies, dig into artsy topics with Cori and Juan, who will also maybe show you an Aikido move or two.
    Of course we are our own language exchange melting pot, since we also have some international friends staying over from time to time. If you want to dig into German language and culture, there are many opportunities awaiting you.

  • Help

    Help

    This summer, we are planning on doing some wood work such as logging trees and preparing wood for further construction projects, as well as soil cultivation to work towards our Hügelbeet fields. Since we are at the beginning we have many different little tasks, where you could also apply your special skill.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We life in a 18th or 19th century (nobody knows exactly) farm house with two extra guest rooms and a big attic. We have beds, mattresses and sleeping bags. If you can't get enough of nature, you can even pitch a tent and enjoy sleeping outdoors, but that's not a must.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Even though this is definitely a countryside location, we are just a 30 minute ride away from the cities of Erlangen and Nuremberg, which offer many cultural and historical sites as well as some music venues and bars if that's your thing. On the other side we have the Franconian Switzerland, which is a climber's paradise with many nice hiking trails and the famous brewery track.

    The local transport brings you to us from either Nuremberg or Erlangen on an easy ride. The bus to the next village, that offers some grocery shopping leaves every 20 minutes just a short 3 minute walk away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

This is one of our permaculture beets. Below, you can see the process of how this came to life with Cori building our wall!
This is one of our 2 tractors that we are really enjoying working with
Working the fields by hand! We want to preserve all the goodies of nature in the soil. So we will only work the grounds on the surface with tools by hand.
Juan is really happy about the compost that he built. Other little building projects like that will come up again and again.
Cori is our wall building expert! We want to upcycle, therefore we get our material from construction sites or the mother earth.
This is part of the terra preta process, where we dug a big hole in the ground to produce charcoal.
The nice advantage of producing charcoal: you get to enjoy a beautiful campfire!
Here we are on the lunche break while doing some tree logging (Lilly, Leo, Georg)
When logging trees, you really get a good workout 😉
Here we celebrate the roof of our hen house, which is done by now. But now worries, there is always something to build around here 😉
This is Us at Lilly’s and Juan’s wedding

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Host ref number: 971499177844