Help us preserve and maintain our Native bush and farmland near Auckland, NZ

Country

New Zealand

Favourited 8 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    04/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a friendly, easy going couple living in a little slice of paradise on 2Ha at Ardmore near Auckland. We enjoy living in the country with our cat, Ted, a few chickens and sheep.

    Most of the land is covered in beautiful Native NZ bush but we have a project on the go to help preserve and maintain this land from landslips. We are also creating paths and steps within the bush area. We also have a number of projects we are trying to get finished while the weather is still in summer mode - fences to paint and some house maintenance.

    We have travelled extensively and just love meeting and new people. We look forward to meeting lots of new people from all around the world, sharing the work on the land and around the house as well as sharing a glass or 2 and a meal at the end of the day on our deck with great views across the Manukau harbour.

    We work from home so have the flexibility to be able work alongside you on the land or other times will be in the home office so are easily accessible.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a couple that have travelled extensively and enjoy meeting people from all over the world. we enjoy sharing our culture and our country so would also be able to help with great ideas and information to travel safely throughout NZ.

  • Help

    Help

    We have a lifestyle, rural property where we host a few sheep and chickens but also an extensive garden and Native bush area.
    At the moment we are working on a special project to maintain and protect the native bush area from erosion. We are looking for some help with project. It also requires some work in the outdoors with building paths and steps through the bush as well.
    We also need some assistance with the garden, caring for the animals , painting fences and general maintenance tasks around the property.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You would have your own bedroom within our house with your own bathroom, Wifi, TV. You are welcome to share lounge space or watch TV in your own room. There is also a spa pool available for your use.
    You will either share meals with us or we can provide food for you to cook your own. The free range chickens will provide you as many eggs as you like. Summertime we tend to enjoy evening dining on the deck with traditional NZ BBQ meals and welcome you to join us. We are happy to cook for you in exchange for your work on our land.

    This is a Non Smoking property at all times.
    Best suited for a couple travelling together as Workawayers.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Ardmore is only 5 mins away from the centre of Papakura with good transport links into Auckland City.
    Just 40 mins from Central Auckland, 5 mins from Papakura railway station, 10 mins from Clevedon and 25 mins to Auckland airport. Security gates and a private road lead you to this tranquil spot.

    It would be easier if you had your own transport, but we are also able to run you to the train station easily.

    We have a wealth of knowledge about travelling throughout NZ. There are also a number of local sights to see and enjoy in your time off:
    Easy location for access to some beautiful natural spots such as Hunua Falls, Clevedon Village, Maraetai Beach, Botanic gardens. Train to the city takes 45mins and an opportunity to get the ferry across to Ranigitoto and Waiheke islands for days trips or to explore Auckland City.
    A chance to explore some parts of the south Auckland region that most travellers miss - such as a drive to rugged west coast beaches, Manuaku Heads lighthouse and remote beaches, Nikau caves and local farmers markets.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Ted the house cat - "Lord of the Manor" - He is 14 yrs old and loves human contact, not too keen on other animals but likes ot follow us around the property and keep a friendly distance between him and the other animals.
A few sheep and chickens enjoy the land. Providing fresh free range eggs daily. The sheep are very used to humans and enjoy being hand fed for treats.
View from the deck. A place to sit and relax with coffee at breakfast or a cold drink at the end of the day watching the sunset.

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Host ref number: 133385948812