Join our family in restoring a beautiful Galican Farmhouse - with sea views and historical towns nearby, Spain

  • Favourited 87 times
  • Last activity: 18 Apr 2024

Availability

  2024 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    Hi! We are an English family of 4 (two girls aged 10 and 13) who have recently moved from London to seek adventure and new experiences in the wonderful Galicia.

    We have purchased a 200 year old farm house with stunning sea views which was renovated about 30/40 years ago. It is beautiful but requires some love and attention. It has a huge garden/land which needs taming! It also has a small 2 bedroom house in its grounds which also needs some renovation.

    We are in search of someone to help work on the property Inside and outside and assist around the house.

    House is perfectly located with hiking (our house is based on the Spiritual spur of the Camino de Santiago), swimming, surfing, historical towns and great food on its doorstep whilst also feeling tranquil and quiet when at home!

    We are a friendly family, who love meeting new people (be prepared for our kids to ask many questions!). We are looking forward to welcoming someone to join us on our Galican adventure.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are English in search of new experiences and cultures. Galicia is perfect for this. It has everything!

    - Nature by the bucket load be it sea or mountains. There are walking routes everywhere -
    - Watersports on our doorstep (we have a kayak and paddle board, but sailing, surfing etc etc close by)
    - History - Lots of historical sites to explore
    - Food - Galician's are VERY proud of their food. Awesome seafood, empanadas, bbqs. Great restaurants in nearby towns. Also great local produce so carbon footprint reduced!

    We have only been here since June 2023 so love to explore the local areas and will be very happy to have our workaway join us.

    The kids are at school here so come back with a wealth of information on Spanish and Galician history and way of life.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    Main house/Casita -
    - painting
    - building furniture
    - up-cycling
    - general diy

    Garden - maintenance, digging veg patch/flowerbeds, tree/hedge management

    General house -
    - general life stuff
    - cooking, clearing up, cleaning
    -Babysitting/childare not a main requirement but help would be great

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Intermediate
    French: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    We are learning Spanish, and would love some help. Very happy to teach you English in exchange

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    To start with you will have a room in the main house with the family and access to one of the 3 shared bathrooms.

    If you can help us clear the Casita (small house) then you can utilise that if you prefer - which has its own bathroom and kitchen.

    We love food - we all cook (even the kids) and would love for you to join us (and cook!). We cater for Gluten free, dairy free and don't eat much red meat. We can also accommodate vegan/vegetarian and always keen to learn new recipes.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    When not working the house is perfectly located on a hill overlooking the sea, beside a babbling brook. With a large garden to relax in.

    It is quiet and tranquil but only 10 mins beautiful walk to the beach!

    Cafes and restaurants within walking distance

    Local bus route 10 mins walk away which gets you to local towns (Pontevedra, Sanxenxo and Vigo) and surf beaches.

    During term time the kids are at school so leave the house around 9am and get back around 5.30pm. My husband is a digital nomad so works in the house. I am building a digital career so will split my time working on the house and working on my computer.

    We have starlink internet and 5g is very good here.

    We have two cats who mostly live outside but do come into the dining room. We keep them out of bedrooms.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have starlink internet and 5g reception.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 133253877143

Feedback (3)



Photos

Feedback

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)





Come and help us with our land on the Spanish Mediterranean coast, Marina Baixa, Spain
Practise outdoor sports together and help with gardening and DIY at my chalet near Gijón, Spain