Looking for native Spanish speakers and an extra pair of hands around the house in Northern England


United Kingdom

Favourited 413 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

  • Description



    My name is Amy and I live with my husband and our 3 children aged 11, 10 and 7, living in a quiet neighbourhood in West Yorkshire, England. I am a midwife and my husband works as an ecologist. We live in the town of Halifax, West Yorkshire and only a short train ride away from us are 3 main cities, York, Leeds and Manchester. I am studying Spanish and would love to practice speaking it on a daily basis, my daughters are learning Spanish too, however my husband and son do not speak Spanish so you will get plenty of English practice here also. We accept workawayers aged over 25 that are Spanish speaking natives and that love dogs, chickens and children! We prefer those wanting to stay a minimum of 3 weeks but longer is also great. If you are not sure about anything just send me a message and we can chat.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Animal Care
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The town and the bus and train station are all within walking distance so you can go to many wonderful places like York which is a really beautiful city and Hebden Bridge which is a small village full of culture. The cities of Leeds, Manchester and Liverpool are also close enough to visit for a day. Our house is surrounded by some very beautiful countryside with many walks to be explored. I practice yoga most days and welcome the company, I also attend yoga classes if people want to join.

  • Help


    We welcome help with gardening (we grow our own vegetables when possible), dog walking, looking after the chickens, childcare and cleaning. Also looking after the house and animals if we go for a trip ourselves. I really want to be fluent in Spanish one day so I am eager to learn and help others learn English in return.

    We love learning about new cultures and way of life and if you want to cook traditional meals that's great but if you don't want to cook for us that is no problem, as long as you are able to cook for yourself. We do try eat as a family whenever possible so often food will be prepared for you but sometimes with work and university we are not able.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    You will have your own room with a double mattress on the top floor for privacy and access to wireless internet. Please be aware the staircase is steep as its a converted loft. All food is included while we are here but it would be great if you can buy your own food If we go away on holiday, in return less will be expected of you. We make mostly vegetarian and vegan meals, though occasionally we eat meat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The closest airports to us are Manchester and Leeds Bradford. Manchester is easier usually as you can take the train from there to our local train station where taxis are available but I will always pick people up if I possibly can.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    We have unlimited wifi and you have your own room in our home so working online is no issue for us.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have a double drive way so you can park your vehicle outside our home if you have one.

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We have a dog but she is very friendly and would love a friend to play with.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    maximum of 20 hours a week over 5 days. Flexible!

Host ref number: 131117773682