1 / 4

Come and learn about organic farming in Aneby, Sweden

  • Sweden
  • Favourited 282 times
  • Last activity: 31 Mar 2023



 Min stay requested: 1 month or more



  • Description


    My name is Love and I live with my wife Anna, our three daughters, born 2011, 2012 and 2019. Also my mother lives on the farm, but in her own house. We are living on a medium sized organic farm in the north of Småland in Sweden, close to the south end of the Vättern see (40 km east ). We have had organic production here since before Sweden joined the European union. The main focus then was milking cows but now it is sheep and cows for meat.
    Other animals are chickens, ducks, cats, dogs, pigs and horses. One of the horses is a draft horse that we use for riding, leisure rides and working in forest.
    The farm is located in the Swedish highlands, with its typical hilly landscape and also a small lake is close by. Most of the farm area is forest, approximately 60% of the 185 ha. The location of the farm is 5 km from a small town but the distance to bigger towns is not great.
    We also try to be self sustaining on greens and meat as far as possible. The garden is growing more and more for each year, but not fast enough :)

    We want to have only german speaking volunteers because our children are bilingual (Anna is native german) and should train more on the german language. It makes it lot easier for the entire family to adopt newcomers.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This area is very quiet. Sometimes when the wind comes from east you can actually hear the trains passing by. But other then that its not much traffic.

    Distance to our lake is 500 m, and you will almost always be left alone, Local nature is the primary distraction, walking, hiking, camping, bike rides, fishing, horse riding, canoeing, wandering the slopes of Omberg or visit Visingsö and more. Public transportation is 700 m away.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    The help we need is very diverse and varying a lot on daily basis. Basically what we would like help with is to take care of all the animals, both daily checks but also moving, building and maintaining fences and so on. We also need help with maintaining buildings on the farm and the garden as well.
    If you can help keeping the horses in shape, that is also nice.
    Some chores in the vegetable garden and taking care of the fruits/vegetables is needed as well.
    Help with cooking and cleaning is also something we need.

    In the weeks Anna mostly is at home alone with the farmwork and the kids, so she needs somebody really reliable who likes to work and likes getting tired :-) Somebody getting a good team with.

  • Languages spoken

    German: Fluent
    English: Fluent
    Swedish: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Two guestrooms in a separate building. Access to the bathroom in the main building. All meals are in the main house. There is also a very small cabin by the lake that can be used.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Right now we could need a strong and handy guy/girl helping out with woodwork, fense building and some other harder work :-)

    Is there a nice soul out there who could support me in the household with cooking, cleaning and other everyday work actively and independently ? My time for the family is so limited at the moment, because, organizing a 5 person household, and providing the farm with everything that goes with it, which in principle is taking all of my time and make me so tired that the nerves often lie blank. Intended tasks would be cooking, shopping, and all household work, possibly even sporadic cooperation in the yard. Things we have to offer you read in profile. I can imagine that a person who likes to be alone in their free time, enjoys the tranquility of nature, makes long walks with the dog or even rides on our so dear Northswedish drafthorse or our islandic mare, hits a bull's-eye here :-) We like to see that you can organize the daily work independently. Of course, you are integrated into our family and welcome with your presence. We are not looking for a cheap home help, but just someone who likes to work independently and likes to be alone. Happy if someone who wants to stay longer if it fits. We look forward to hear from you.

    PS: My husband likes to play almost all type of card/board games :) DS.

    Gibt es da draussen eine nette Seele, die mich im Haushalt mit Kochen, Putzen und weiteren alltaglichen Arbeiten tatkräftig und selbstständig unterstuetzen könnte? Meine Zeit fuer die Familie ist im Moment so eingeschränkt, da das Organisieren von einem 5 Personen Haushalt mit Baby, und die Versorgung der Landwirtschaft mit allem was dazu gehört im Prinzip all meine Zeit in Anspruch nehmen und mich sooo muede machen, dass die Nerven oft blank liegen.
    Gedachte Aufgaben wären Kochen, einkaufen, und sämtliche Haushaltsarbeiten, eventuell auch sporadische Mitarbeit auf dem Hof.
    Dinge die wir anzubieten haben lest ihr im Profil. Ich kann mir vorstellen, dass eine Person, die gerne in ihrer Freizeit alleine ist, die Ruhe in der Natur geniesst, lange Spaziergänge mit dem Hund oder auch Ausritte auf unserem lieben Nordschwedschen Kaltblueter/ der Isistute macht, hier einen Volltreffer landet :-)
    Wir sehen gerne, dass Du die tägliche Arbeit selbstständig organisieren kannst.
    Natuerlich bist Du in unsere Familie integriert und mit deiner Anwesenheit willkommen. Wir suchen keine billige Haushaltshilfe, aber eben jemanden, der auch gerne selbstständig arbeitet und gerne auch mal alleine ist.
    Gerne jemandden, der länger bleiben möchte, wenn es passt.
    Wir freuen uns von Dir zu hören.


    No smokers or strikt vegetarians/vegans.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week

Host ref number: 129786623981

Feedback (3)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Join our Swedish-Irish family and help out with the kids in the lovely Skogstorp, Sweden
Come and help with everyday life and feel the peace outside Näsåker, Northern Sweden