Language exchange with kiddos and potential help with some projects in Santa Pola, Alicante, Spain

Country

Spain

Favourited 117 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/09/2021

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    166

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi there,

    We are a famility living close to Alicante in a town called Santa Pola. We are Quino, Alex (7) and Gael (almost 6). We are currently looking for a language and intercultural exchange from September on in English preferentially or French. In brief, we are quite creative, active, outdoors and nature keen family so we tend to always be busy doing related things (bike tours, painting, hiking, skating, weird exhibitions wondering, paddle surfing or swiming) but also staying at home watching a good film (normally always OV - even in Japanese :s! as we still found no good add on to our media center) or playing at some games in our retropie emulator.

    Me (Quino) I run several ventures at a time including a consultancy business on human rights related topics and a eco-ethnic social tourism initiative with destinations and activities in the region (not that much lately but I would love to relaunch it a bit). I am not currently looking for help in these areas but if you are interested and I got a project in the pipeline it may be possible.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Help around the house
    Help with Computers/ Internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We offer a stay with a Spanish family in a wonderful area on the top of a mountain with views 2 min away to the Mediterranean sea and a wild beach down the hill.

    For those with the interest and if the chance comes I can show you as well some insihgts into the human rights consultancy business and/or the tourism initiative.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help

    Help

    I currently would like someone to help the kids immerse in English (1st) or French (2nd) language and culture from a playful approach ...I am interested only in very self-reliant people taking care of themselves and also helping out with daily chores (similar to a flat mate arrangement). If you are interested in improving your Spanish that can happen when the kids are not around (50% of the time). There are also Spanish classes available in the public library at a very reasonable price.

    In addition and if you are good with GIS, Photosop-illustrator, statistics, or machine learning I would love to sit down and exchange, learn and share...and even maybe collaborate in some projects if there is the chance (day rate included in that case).

    We are also very keen on DIY projects and have always something to do around including paintings, raspberry pi, furniture design, etc., so we would very welcome creative souls around.

    I would never ask for more than 20 hours a week on the kiddos related tasks so you will have plenty of time to discover the region as well.

    I am specially interested in the cultural exchange so on top of receiving someone with the skills and willing to work one of the main aims is to have someone active, open, curious and autonomous.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    Spanish: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Catalan: Intermediate

    This host offers a language exchange
    I am interested in Alex and Gael getting used to hear other languages (prefereably English and then French are our priorities). You would speak with them in your language while playing with an active approach based on repetition and correction.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Your will have your own independent room. You will use as well your own toilette (shower is common though) and we will all share the kitchen, the garden the dinning room, etc.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We can spare one bike (currently in need of some repair we can do together) to discover the place on your own (there are plenty of routes nearby including our mountain, wetlands, beaches, etc.). Be aware nearest cities are Alicante and Elche both reachable only by bus or car (but public transportation is not that good though). We live quite close to Alicante international airport.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    I am a digital worker myself so wifi is good and we can set up an additional working space

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    We like animals and would not mind sharing our space with someone bringing its own.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 883161735435