Help with construction, dry walls, chopping bushes, gardening, animal care, Live by the sea - island of Vis, Croatia

Country

Croatia

updated  

Favourited 365 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    28/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    98.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Notification for this december-january - petsitting needed!
    I am planing to go on a short trip to slovenia (cca 14 days) so i would like to host a petsitting person :)
    When asking for animal care I prefer someone who has experience with cats and who understand animal nature. I have a dog and 2 cats, they are my companions and i could say i treat them as they would be my babies. I might take a dog with me. One of my cats is not well at the moment and the other one likes to hang outdoors (so she gets bites from some stray cats) so they need care. :)

    I moved to the island 4 years ago and now i am arranging a little house in a beautiful bay called Stoncica.
    The house is distanced about 15 minutes walk from the first road and a car park. Drinking water needs to be brought here and all the other things so you need to be strong and ready to sometimes carry things like a donkey. :)
    Only few people live here in the winter. The nature is all around and makes you feel calm and fulfilled even when you are alone. A lot of space for meditation and relaxation. Our island has a beautiful and strong energy. Come and feel it.

    I wish to host people that already know how to do stuff, not only looking for me to teach them something new but also the other way around. I wish skilled people older than 30 would apply here. You also have to be used to live with nature and meet all kinds of animals, even wasps, bees and other insects.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Help with Eco project
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    At the moment the work is mostly outdoor (building, repairing drywalls, making the path by chopping the bushes, if you know how to work with different tools would be great), but later on in autumn and winter and spring I would love to do an easier job indoor, pick up herbs, and fruits that grow in the nature and make teas and spices. The summer time is the season time, so many tourists come and we are all busy doing seasonal jobs. The island itself is just beautiful to see, hang around the island, meet some other local people.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking only for skilled people. I need help around the house:
    - making a stony path to the wale
    - building some dry walls
    - construction help (making concrete and wood work)
    - helping on and around the house (painting, wood carving and making furniture, constructing a shelter for storage...)
    - and on the land as well (chopping the bushes, repairing drywalls, gardening).

    I would like to arrange the surrounding. There are few stony terraces outside the house with 11 olive trees. The water in the house is from a wale and I want to make a path to the wale. We are saving the water here and all the other sources too.

    So in spring and summer I am looking for strong and handy individuals with experience in building and constructing with knowledge about some tools and so. I think this is not the right place for city people who likes a lot of comfort. Neither for people who want to travel for free and learn some new skills. Hosting can be exhausting if hosts do not get some work done in return for offering the accommodation. But anyway i like to host people who are ready to help. tidy and careful with things they use (tools, house equipment...)

    If you never worked in construction then better come in the winter time. In winter time (december, january) im making handcraft and art.. A lot of plants can be picked up in the wild surrounding and dried in to spices or tea. I have a dog and 2 cats, so if i am away then i ask for petsitting :) There is stuff to do around but depends at what time are you arriving.

    When asking for animal care I prefer someone who has experience with that and who understand animal nature. I have a dog and 2 cats, they are my companions. One of my cats is not well at the moment so he needs care and when going to work in the season i am not able to be with him. My dog is an attention seeker and she is from a shelter, so she has some issues and if you are not familiar with the leadership in dogs, maybe its not a good idea for you to apply for this workaway, even if the beautiful location by the sea is attracting you.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, spanish, slovenian, croatian, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    You will be sleeping in a house by the sea with all the comfort only the shower is outdoors. Saving water is very desirable (on the whole island). And i also ask people to take a good care of the house and keep it really tidy. I live from renting this house in the summer so it has to be in a really good condition. Clean and not destroyed. :)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    From the port of Vis I can come and pick you up. I would like to invite people who like nature and care about stuff. Being aware of consumerism and ecology, animal care.... To have a good and positive attitude and like being honest. I am quite tidy and organized but i also like to go with the flow and take it easy.
    I would not like to spend too much money on the food so i decided to provide 1 meal per day. The rest of the food we can individually bring to the house and share. There are some basics already in the house (like oil , viniger, spices...).

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)







Host ref number: 125664971442