Help a Homeschooling family in Ottawa, Canada.

Country

Canada

Favourited 109 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    8  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    13/07/2019

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hello Workawayers! We are a French-Canadian family living in a rural area of Ottawa. (We also all speak English) We homeschool our 4 children, mostly in French. They are aged 7 to 15 yo. We moved to the country 4 years ago and now live in a large house that is an easy 20 minutes from Ottawa by car.

    We love art, video games, legos, board games, science experiments, music, karate, swimming and gardenning.

    Bonjour! Nous sommes une famille franco-Ontarienne vivant dans la région d'Ottawa. Comme nous essayons de garder le français comme langue dominante de la maison, nous sommes particulièrement intéressés à recevoir des Workawayers qui peuvent parler en francais. Si le français est votre langue maternelle ou s'il ne l'est pas et que vous cherchez à le pratiquer pendant votre séjour au Canada, il nous ferait plaisir de vous recevoir. Le reste de ce profil sera en anglais pour permettre une plus grande accessibilité.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Babysitting / child care
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Art project
    Teaching

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Travellors will have the unique experience of discovering our way of educating our children outside the mainstream system as well as discovering a bit of the French Canadian culture (outside Québec).

  • Help

    Help

    I would love to have help with teaching my children about other parts of the world, cleaning and picking up after my children, preparing food for my children, cleaning our house and weeding the garden (if we host during the summer) and occupying my younger children while I teach my older children (if we host during the school year).

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French and English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have a guest bedroom with a king size bed.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a 20 minute car ride from downtown Ottawa. This is the best option for transportation since we are in the country.

    We also have access to Ottawa via bus ride. A bus leaves for Ottawa in the morning and comes back in the evening from Monday to Friday.

    Ottawa has many sites, museums, pubs, theatres...

    We have 4 children that we homeschool, so I would expect volunteers to be respectfull of little people and of our lifestyle.

    Because we have young children, we would prefer not to host single men. We would prefer single women or couples.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 839677725665