Help at Jazz festival in rural Brittany....

Country

France

Favourited 803 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    79  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/08/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Help working at local Jazz festival 15th to 19 August followed by a holiday in south-west France for anyone??? 20th to 30th August. 2 bedroom accommodation.

    What I offer is suitable for people looking for a relaxed home-stay with no fixed hours of work where we adapt duties to daily needs which can be heavily influenced by what nature offers.


    This year is very different for me as I have sold my garden and the one I am buying will not be mine until later this year at which time I will need help with it. I do have still have a large green house mostly full of tomatoes and I help my handicapped neighbor with his.
    I will now be doing a lot more foraging and so use what nature provides in the many forests and meadows around the village.
    It would be fair to say that I do not really need much help but it is always nice to have someone here to lend a hand and it is always a pleasure to give someone the chance of immersing yourself in my village life.

    There is of course the mushroom season for enthusiasts and there will be more time for this.

    There is of course general housework to do; usually something to make, paint or repair.

    People say the exchange I offer is more like a home-stay than work and now there is little to do in the garden at certain times there will be very little work to do. It is always great to have people who want to experience life in a small village and are prepared to disconnect themselves from their smart phones for more than 5 minutes! The best exchanges are those with travelers who are curious and open-minded, want to come here to visit and enjoy the region, take part in all aspects of daily life and learn new skills while helping with daily living.

    Daily activities can often be influenced by the seasons and the weather,
    It would be fair to say that I have a range of tasks to be done so no 2 days are the same. A mix of gardening, kitchen work, cleaning, occasionally some home improvements and there is often something to paint. I adapt the tasks to your competences and wishes and your ideas are always welcome.
    I usually use the lunar calendar for gardening.

    I make my own bread every week.

    With less work it gives plenty of time for me to show you the region where I live in. Great photo opportunities in an area full of hidden treasures to be discovered with your own personal tour guide!

    Melrand is a village with a shop, butcher, baker, chemist, garage, hairdresser, restaurant/hotel and 3 other bars. Situated 30 miles (45km) from the coast and large towns (Vannes, Lorient)
    I speak french and spend as much time with the locals as I can manage. So this could be an opportunity to improve your French, but please do not come here to learn French!

    I consider myself fairly well traveled; USA, Chile, Paraguay, Brazil, Morocco, Thailand, Czech Rep, most of West Europe. and much of this by myself. I have a good understanding of wine having worked for 10 years in the business.
    I am a 58 year old English man settled in France for 14 years.
    I love meeting people who travel! And I know what is wanted and appreciated by fellow travelers. People with musical instruments are especially welcome to join in the monthly `session musicale` in the local bar....

    # Stargazing on clear nights due to lack of light pollution. # Recycling everything to prevent waste.

    So if you enjoy good food, (I am not a vegetarian) good company (I'm told!) you are flexible and would like a relaxed time in my corner of France whilst helping me in varied tasks please let me know.

    NOT suitable for people wanting fixed hours with their own agenda for their time off. If you are not interested in going to events, and generally enjoying what Brittany has to offer then you should not ask to come here. Many of these events can be free and and when not I will help with tickets if needed.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The Celtic Culture of Brittany which has its own music and dance and its largely unspoilt landscapes could be a very good reason for coming here for many. Travellers have the opptunity to discover the region as I offer to act as tour guide. There are many cultual events especially in the summer, including the 10 day Celtic Music festival in Lorient.
    The chance to learn some cooking and gardening. Jam making and preserving fruit and vegetables. Bread making.
    Learning about wild Mushroom picking has been very popular.
    I speak French and English which gives a chance to non French speakers to have a more relaxed visit.

  • Help

    Help

    I am looking for help with some general cleaning and tidying and improving my house. Plenty of seasonal and 'one off' things to do! Conserving vegetables, wild mushroom picking, jam making, etc.
    In spite of the renovation work being finished there is always something to paint!

    If cooking is not your thing please do not worry as I can do it, it is more important that you are a practical person and you think you can help me...

    I prefer a minimum of 2 weeks, however even longer stays are better. Long term/ business opportunity for the right person considered.

    It would be safe to say that the more you give me the more I give back to you! Sometimes inspiration is the best thing anyone can give me......

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French. English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I offer a bedroom with a double bed and an additional area for your use if needed. Shared bathroom with me.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Our meals will be cooked and eaten together, vegetarian if required. Please note that this is an important factor for the harmony of living in one house and is the only thing I insist on with helpers. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ VEGETARIANS are very welcome. I am NOT a vegetarian but adapt if you are!

    (Workawayers who have insisted on doing there own thing have not fitted in well )
    The main meal is generally had in the evening as this gives more time to cook it.
    I propose local produce, much from my garden, I very rarely open a tin as it is from fresh produce I make my meals. Certainly no pre-prepared meals here!
    Vegetarians are very welcome!
    Bed sheets and towels will be provided. I have work overalls and gloves if required. There is a pair of size 39 and 42 boots available as well
    WiFi available.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Plenty to see and do in the area. Sites to visit, music festivals, `fest noz`, excellent area for cycling, village life! A great place to unwind.
    However there is very poor public transport, but I can help if needed.
    If your are wanting to visit Brittany for the music festivals I am very centrally placed.
    If and when the sun shines (summertime!) I like to go to one of the many beaches (work commitments permitting!) which are about 45 mins away and you will be most welcome to come along. Siteseeing is also something I offer when there is the time.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day on average 5 days a week

Melrand church at sunset
the coast
My living room
Gladioli in the garden
Poul Fetan, a village nearby
other lovely produce of the garden.
Store room, filling up!
My garden at dusk
Garden produce; one day`s harvest!!
Historical village just outside Melrand.
The old port of Auray.
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (4.5)


















































Host ref number: 122717468875