Two offers : Will you join and help us in our nice house near Paris or in our paradise in South of France ? or in the both :)

Country

France

Favourited 727 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    74  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    30/07/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    82.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ update : 9th of April :

    We won't need any more volunteer until autumn...
    We wish to all of you a very nice spring and summer :))

    Near Paris, from mid May to June, we will begin to rejuvenate the house and fix, and paint, and take care of the garden... So, if you have those skills, you'll be welcome, dear volunteers :))

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


    About my place near Paris :

    I live in a big nice house with a nice garden, and the both need cares :))
    A little bit renovation for the house by painting, fixing small repairs... and in the garden, cutting hedges and cleaning it.. There are quite many things to do there, inside and outside :)

    About "my" South :

    6 years ago, I bought a beautiful, wild and isolated barn in the middle of it's land to create a country house where my loved ones, and friends, and me, could gather.
    The place is located in the French Riviera, very close to the well-known Mediterranean beaches, while remaining secluded, quiet, in a beautiful environment: the Maures hills.
    The house is a very old barn of the 17th century. It was in very poor condition when I acquired it and we worked very hard to make it as it is today.
    Today the house is almost dealt with but the area still need some work!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️Internet is possible with smartphone but there is no WIFI here *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

    The project It is not only the restoration of the house and its environment, but also and above all, an ecological project.
    Indeed, over the past 35 years, mimosas invaded the region and our land, and they killed all the original vegetation.
    We plan and have started to eradicate these mimosas, replace them little by little with trees and young plants and so, restore Mediterranean vegetation.

    We want to do that that in the permaculture spirit, have a vegetable garden, an orchard, may be dig a pond with a rainwater recovery....

    I like to work there in the hills, in the heart of unspoilt nature.
    The house is practically autonomous, electricity is produced by solar panels and water comes from our source.
    Of course, the volunteers will not be alone, but 2, 3, 4, not more, plus me. There is a lot of work to do here, no doubt, but it's also a wonderful area to explore all around!

    We just love this place and are very attached to it: its authentic and relaxed atmosphere, the exclusivity of the place.
    Just look at the pictures, they say more than long sentences ...

    If you want to come and help me in the both places, of course it's possible !
    and if you want to come only in one of the two places, it's OK :)

    About me and my family :
    We are a very united family of nearly 10 persons. I lost my husband few years ago.
    My oldest daughter lives with her husband and 2 sons in Bulgaria (after 5 years in Madagascar), they both work for NGOs.
    My son is a naval architect, he lives in the nice city of Vannes, in Brittany, with his beloved and they are proud parents of a 3 years old boy and a pretty little baby girl of 7 months old!
    My youngest daughter, who is a young photographer, lives in Paris.

    About you :

    It' very important for us to keep the wonderful warm atmosphere we have in our teams of volunteers.

    So we're looking for motivated, easy going, hardworking, convivial and respectful people.

    Respectful to others of course, but also to the house, objects, tools.
    Keep in mind that you are welcomed in a place which is very precious for us, that everything has value for us and that we expect you to take care of it.
    This point is very very important, I insist a lot on it because it was not always the case in the past and I don't want this could happen again!

    Here, in a great conviviality you will share work, experience, conversations, laughs, music, cooking, meals, etc...
    About alcohol: we like to share a beer after work, a glass of wine during dinner, it's nice and friendly, but we do not want alcoholism here, it's important that you know it before to come here.

    You will enjoy being and talking all together, after the day work, with a cup of tea, beer or a glass of wine in the hand :)

    Please, be honest in your description and don't say (as some does) that you havesome skills when it is not true, because it complicates the work of everyone and it brings many disappointments.

    Workaway is a beautiful and amazing experience, we are so happy to meet and discover people coming from everywhere and becoming a part of an amazing team!

    Don't hesitate to ask me any questions you have!

    Hope to see you soon, I'm sure you will enjoy the life here!

    2 more important things :
    - in South - no WIFI, mobile phones are ok but it depends of the place you are in the property !
    - come with working shoes and working clothes if you have some, you will need them (specialy in autumn and winter !)

    Emmanuelle

    About the teams :
    If you want to know how is the atmosphere on the spot, just read the feedbacks :)

    April 2019 :
    SPRING IS THERE !
    Wonderful teams work and live there since one year, October 2017, most of time, managed by Dominic, the most amazing and friendly guy you can imagine!
    We cut the invasive mimosas, and have also to take off all those who died because of the 2017 hot summer. We continue to replace them with plants and trees adapted to the region and climate ! Little by little, we win the war against mimosas and that it marvelous !!!
    There are a lot of other works to do there, taking care of the vegetable garden, of the orchard, creating a keyhole garden and beginning permaculture, building a wooden little house... Also, later in spring, it will be necessary to repaint shutters and the wooden things who need to be refresh... For the house, we are very attentive to take car of it, keeping the place clean and in order... the kitchen and the living-room need new paints, and, and... so many things to do... that's the reason why I need people who know and love nature and DIY !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like to talk, exchange, share my expertise ... I like the friendliness!
    The experience that the volunteers will acquire with me should be really rich... and the one they give me is amazing :)

  • Help

    Help

    In South :
    - Cut the invasive plants (mimosas, invasive and parasites), burn them (when it is the right season to do that), and replace them with young plants and trees.
    - Build wooden decks to install tents, and also small wooden cabins
    - build a terrace on stilts
    - rebuild dry stone walls
    - Install a water supply system (by a gravity ), build a shower,
    - continue the organic vegetable garden....
    etc etc ...
    Near Paris :
    - in the garden, planting new plants, cutting hedges, redo the lawn,
    - in the house, painting, repairing, etc, etc....
    We are seeking for volunteers enthusiastic, hard worker, dynamic, resourceful, imaginative... pro-active people are greatly welcomed!

    Desired skills cover (but not all of them in one person !!!) : painting, carpentry, crafts of all kinds, logging, gardening, permaculture, welding wrought iron, stone walls reconstruction, repair of roads ...

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    french of course :) ... and english more and more fluent, thanks to you !

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In South :
    Accommodation will be in the house, but is also possible in a big and confortable tent (not from November to April)
    One of the jobs is to build wooden platforms in order to build small wooden houses... and, may be, one day, a tree house also !!! My dream !!!
    Meals will be cooked and taken inside the house or on the outside garden depending on the season.
    Near Paris :
    I have 2 comfortable rooms with one bathroom for those 2 rooms.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The area is obviously very beautiful and there is plenty to do and see: walking and biking in the beautiful hills, trips to the very near Mediterranean Sea and its beaches, authentic and beautiful villages visits, etc, etc...
    The Var (and particularly the French Riviera) is one of the most beautiful place of France for tourism, so you can imagine how many things to see and to do !

    For Paris, I think that it is not necessary to tell you how amazing is this town and how many things you can do and see there :)
    And, near my house, the nature is beautiful, there are a lot of cute villages and many excursions to do, walk or bike to explore the surroundings.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 heures par jour max, 5 j/sem.

my house near Paris in summer
My house near Paris in winter
my oldest daughter with husband and son
the mimosas !!!
my son with wife, baby and dog !
the swimming pool
the terrace where meals are taken
the road to us
a view on the french Alps from the barn
our beautiful barn
Me !
my youngest daughter with our young dog !
These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.3)

Communication: (5.0)









































Host ref number: 847394568412