1 / 5

Learn English and help with the animals at my home in BC, Canada

  • Canada
  • Favourited 19 times
  • Last activity: 29/11/2022

Availability

  2023 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Details

  • Description

    Description

    I am a retired English second language teacher. I enjoy my retirement on an acreage where I raise cattle. My home is only a short drive into a very attractive community which has many modern amenities. I have a modern, comfortable three bedroom home. I have hosting experience and recently completed a criminal record check. One guest that I previously hosted came speaking no English and left being able to carry out basic conversations.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Farmstay help
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I am able to assist with learning English. I will offer excursions to historical sites and to local community sports and arts events. I am a local community volunteer which gives me many contacts in my community.

  • Help

    Help

    Being able to drive is an asset. Willing to learn and try new things. Good listening skills. Reliable and considerate of others. Help on the farm is seasonal. Tasks could include mending fences, assisting with maintenance and hooking up, brush cutting along fence lines, barn cleaning, helping with animals. Assisting with hay harvesting and hauling, feeding animals.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Intermediate

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I have a two story log home with four bedrooms and two baths. My guest will have a private room. My home has a large modern kitchen, living room and formal dining room. My home is heated by a new efficient gas furnace with a wood back up system Cleaning and food preparation will be a shared experience. I have a home cleaner coming in every two weeks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Visitors will have time to visit the local pool and recreation center, see movies at the local theater or attend a variety of community events. Please visit the website for the city of Quesnel BC Canada

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can possibly accept pets

    Can possibly accept pets

    Pres must be compatible with all farm animals

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week flexible hours

Host ref number: 764594712378

Feedback (1)

Photos

Feedback