Discover our islands and reconnect to nature, while helping with various projects in a small seaside community. Canada

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 281 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    21  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    25/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    444

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

  • paid opportunity

    Host offers payment

     

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Would you like to come and help us out?

    We are located in Sandspit, on Haida Gwaii, a remote archipelago in the northern part of BC, close to Alaska.

    We are a waterfront heritage home with a three-bedroom cottage separate from the main house.
    Cheerful and comfortable, this place is at the shore of beautiful Shingle Bay in Sandspit, Haida Gwaii.
    Sandspit offers easy access to tours of Gwaii Haanas, kayaking adventures, fishing charters, birdwatching, and beachcombing.
    Since a few years, we operate a small Hostel within the B&B.

    There are daily flights from Vancouver to Sandspit, where the property is located, and also a ferry coming from Prince Rupert a few times a week. I can come and pick you up at the ferry.

    I am a 39 year old male, originally from France and now in Canada since 10 years. I just became a citizen last year. This is now going to be my 9th summer on the islands. I have been and am still a helper myself and have traveled in Canada using various websites. I have also traveled for a few years in Australia and New Zealand, on Working Holiday Visas.
    I am a long distance cyclist during the winter months and like to explore Latin american countries and Asia.
    I am a former employee of a local boat tour company.

    I have hosted many travelers over the past years. People do not always come through volunteer websites listings, but also by word of mouth. I have hosted people from France, Germany, Japan, Austria, Spain, Taiwan, Australia, Canada (of course), Switzerland, Belgium, Poland, Egypt, the US...
    I can host usually only one person at a time, sometimes couples.

    This year, some friends and nearby neighbors are also looking for some volunteers for help with chores around their home, some construction work, gardening and with childcare. Visit their profiles at and
    Also, there is a community looking for helpers and potentially also, for those who have a work visa or are canadian citizens, some paid positions.

    Come and visit!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Other
    Help in the house
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    This is a place where you will get to meet interesting people from the islands as well as from all over the world.

    Haida culture is omnipresent on the islands. This lively culture and its monumental art is inspired by its rich ecosystems and its vibrant nature, right at everybody's doorstep.
    This is a place where the concept of interconnectedness is easy to grasp, between the people and the land, between one another, and within nature itself.

    This is a place where you can learn more about your connection to nature, more about yourself, your place in the world and your own connection to others.

    This is a remote environment, in a very small community of less than 300 residents. This is a place with no McDonald's or starbucks, no billboard ads, no traffic signs, and no shopping malls.

  • Help

    Help

    I am involved in community projects and to be able to be a local volunteer myself, I will need help with keeping the place clean and tidy. There is also an ornamental garden to take care of, a vegetable garden and a small greenhouse.
    It will be possible for you, if you wish, to interact with guests. It is very informal and people are friendly and outgoing.
    People visiting the islands find it a very relaxing and peaceful place.

  • Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    Host offers a wage in line with the minimum wage

    This host offers accommodation and payment.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    French English Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the number of volunteers and the time of year, I can provide a private room or a room to share with another person.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Getting to the archipelago can be a long trip. By land, it can take between 3 to 5 days to get to the islands from Vancouver. Taking the inside passage ferry from the northern end of Vancouver island would also take a few days. Flying in from Vancouver takes under 2 hours.
    Travel fares can be pricey, especially during the summer months.

    We are not located on Vancouver island but much farther north. This is a different archipelago, very close to the Alaskan border.
    The islands are about 50 to 100kms west of the Canadian mainland, in the pacific. You can only see the mainland on rare occasions and usually from an elevated point.

    Less than 5000 residents live on the islands. Half the population is of Haida descent.
    Sandspit is the only community on Moresby island and home to 300 residents. Most of the population lives on Graham island in its 6 other communities.

    The Sandspit airport is the main airport on the islands and is where air Canada flights arrive and depart.

    The islands are about 300kms from north to south, similar in size to Jamaica or Corsica, and there are only about 120kms of paved highway.

    Sandspit is the gateway to famous Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve which is a vast and remote protected area in the bottom third of the islands, only accessible by boat or floatplane.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week
















Host ref number: 999672149279