Help with daily chores and enjoy East Vancouver, Canada



Favourited 98 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends


  • Badges

    Facebook verified
  • Description


    * I spent the first 2 weeks of 2020 in the hospital with double (severe) pneumonia, 1st week in ICU on life support. Then several weeks at home recovering. I had some help for the first month, but not for a while now, and the house is getting so messy with my son being home more of the time. I could use some help.

    Since I was so sick, I'm not sure now if I'm immune or more susceptible to Covid-19 as I had the pneumonia too early to have been tested for it. I would like whoever comes here to have been practicing social isolation for at least 10 days before coming here. So if you have been living in one house and not going out with other people then who you live with, then i think it would be safe for you to come stay here. My roommate still goes to the corner store everyday, and my son still goes to his dad's apartment, so he's not so isolated either, but definitely not someone who just arrived in Canada, or someone staying in a hostel.

    I live with my very energetic 10yr old boy, and 1 roommate.
    We also have 1 very cute orange kitty.
    There is a small bedroom on the main floor with a double bed and a desk.
    You'd have full access to our kitchen, shared bathroom, and living room.

    Within 5 blocks of our house you will find (though most of these are closed currently): a Service Canada office (in case of immigration or SIN inquiries), a public library, a 24hr gym, multiple grocery stores and markets, restaurants representing several ethnicities, cafes, a pub, a hardware store, an acupuncturist, massage and hair/nail salons, plus many other services and even a park.

    I have chronic pain, so limited energy that I would rather spend on my son rather than on housekeeping and organizing.
    I'm currently looking for 1 person, to help me out, cleaning but especially with organizing the house, and preparing excess belongings for sale online, and figuring out what to environmentally dispose of the rest of the stuff. The outside areas need a spring cleaning as well.
    Preferably a WorkAwayer would stay for 1 - 2 weeks, so we can really tackle my organization problem.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    General Maintenance
    Help around the house

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I like to show visitors around the city (when i'm up for it time/energy wise), and have some experience with hosting international guests and have also done a fair bit of traveling myself.
    I immigrated to Canada at 8 yrs of age, spoke fluent English after a year, but have been correcting my parents and others in their speech ever since, and I've had practice teaching other newcomers how to speak English like a local, (rather than what they teach in books).
    I don't go to bars or night clubs, but i can take you to some alternative music and dance events where you can meet some very interesting people.

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Help


    I'm a single mom, with some physical limitations so I need some help organizing this house and keeping it clean. Looking for someone with a positive youthful energy, who's self motivated and able to tackle an organization project with little guidance....i know there are people out there that love doing this sort of thing, I used to be one, just can't do it myself anymore.

  • Languages spoken

    Russian: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Furnished bedroom in a house of 3 bedrooms (2 on main floor and 1 in attic), shared bathroom and kitchen on main floor, and there's a separate basement suite.
    I have access to heavily discounted food, and a Costco membership. I can take you shopping with me, and we can figure out what we'll eat together. My son is pretty picky, so i have a set menu that i prepare for him, but I'm pretty open to trying anything myself that you would like to prepare for us.

    I have a lot of different teas here, plus pastas and other grains and cooking necessities, plus fresh vegetables are accessible year-round in Vancouver.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live in East Vancouver, not too far from downtown, the airport, the beaches and the mountains.
    It's very easy to get around the city from here, as transit is within 2 blocks in every direction. We now have a bike share program in Vancouver, currently the nearest bike parking stations are about 12 blocks away (though they are steadily expanding the program's coverage radius), and you can buy a daily plan to use them to get to downtown, Stanley park, to the beach, to transit centres, etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 584415712783