Restoring an old farmhouse in the Morvan, the beautiful natural Parc in the Burgundy, France

Country

France

Favourited 136 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/03/2018

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  • Description

    Description

    We are Lucie and Albert, both 63, from Holland and living in France for 7 years now. Our house and old farm is in the small village of Millay, in the south of the natural parc the Morvan, in the middle of the Burgundy. It is close by Luzy, a nice little town with trainstation. We are now renovating the old little farmhouse on our property, we need your help with this and other things like gardening etc. You stay with us in our house, the old farmhouse or the caravan, depending on the weather. We cook and eat together in our house and we will show you around in the beautiful Morvan.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will learn a lot about construction, renovation, restauration. How did they built these farms in the old days. How did they live these days.

  • Help

    Help

    The renovationwork is basically the finishingwork of the small house inside the barn like insulationworks, plastering with clay (by hand), small carpentryworks, painting, etc. I worked as an architect and in construction and can teach you a lot about this. It will not be electrical, plumbing or the really hard construction work, we leave this for the professionals. If you are interrested in gardening there is also some nice work to be done.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english, french, dutch, german

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Depending on the weather you will stay in our house, the old farmhouse or in the caravan next to the house. We will do cooking together and eat together. You will have enough privacy if you wish. There is also a good internetconnection (wifi). We live on walkingdistance from Millay (600 m) and Luzy (4 km, swimmingpool, bars, restaurants etc.), both really nice walks.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We will work together 4 - 5 hours per day, 5 days per week, the rest of the time you can make walks, visit Luzy, we will plck you up from there if you wish. We will take you to some interesting spots in the Morvan, to the (sometimes) live music bar in town etc.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week







Host ref number: 989865718774