Help on a 13.5 acre smallholding to make the land productive near Llandeilo, Wales, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 50 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    1  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    10/02/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: No minimum

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Hi. I have a 13.5 acre smallholding out in the countryside, about 15 minutes drive from the nearest small town (Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire, SW Wales). It is a beautiful old stone house in a beautiful spot in a beautiful part of the country. A stream runs right by the house. It is surrounded by fields & woods. There is a lot of bird life & other nature to enjoy.

    Apart from the odd tractor & the few cars that pass by the lane each day, all you hear is the wind & the stream & the birds. It is a place of peace & tranquility. The house has 4 bedrooms, all ensuite, plus a study downstairs with a double sofabed (there is also a downstairs toilet & shower room). One of the bedrooms is actually a self contained little flatlet, with its own kitchenette.

    All in all, the accommodation is very comfortable. The beds are all doubles, so I could accommodate a maximum of 4 singles or up to 4 couples even.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    My goal is to make my place sustainable - by making the land itself productive, plus also other ideas that revolve around accommodation, & allowing people to come & enjoy this beautiful spot, & hopefully to learn something from the experience & the environment as well. You would benefit from the satisfaction of helping to get this project off the ground, & I would be happy to offer the opportunity to volunteers who make significant contributions to come back & enjoy the place as guests once things are up & running.

    I welcome ideas & creativity, so if you have your own ideas for projects, you may well find the freedom to express them. Obvious skills that could be learnt revolve around gardening, beekeeping, looking after animals, construction, land maintenance etc

  • Help

    Help

    So, it has taken a long time just to get the house sorted. It is now quite comfortable, so I would like to start the process of making the land productive, but separation means I am now alone here & I need to work full time to pay the bills. For the moment I could really use some help just with the basics of getting the vegetable gardens & polytunnel in shape & planted (building raised beds etc), plus some land maintenance (digging out drainage channels, clearing areas etc), plus some basic construction of chicken coops, bee hive etc).

    There are also a few basic jobs around the house that could be done, like bits of painting & woodwork etc). Ultimately I see this place as becoming a kind of retreat centre / nature education centre, as well as the land itself being more productive. So beyond those basic tasks there are some other construction ideas I have - building a large yurt plus some smaller ones, creating some cleared areas for various leisure purposes (cob hot tub, cob pizza oven, sweat lodge, some simple decked areas to be able to sit & enjoy 1 or 2 of the peaceful spots along the stream....etc).

    Plus, the big one is to convert the derelict outdoor swimming pool to a natural swimming pond.... (It does hold water though, so I'm happy to pump stream water into it if you would like to swim & don't mind it being a bit cold). And things don't really have to be done in order, if someone has a particular project they would like to get into, plus I'm actually open to ideas as well...!

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    Smattering of French, Spanish, German, Portuguese, Arabic

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Own comfortable rooms with double bed & ensuite bathrooms/toilets

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I am within 15-20 minutes drive from: the pleasant town of Llandeilo (including the National Trust Dynefwr House on its outskirts), Brechfa forest (great for mountain biking, hiking etc), the National Botanic Gardens of Wales, several ruined hilltop castles that make nice walks up, plus I am about 45 mins - 1 hour from some of SW Wales lovely beaches.

    There is little public transport, although there is a bus that goes to/from Carmarthen, but I believe it is only Wednesday & Saturdays. I am able to give lifts into town when I go to/from work, plus I am happy to take people up to the pub in the village or even out on occasional trips. Two bicycles are available, although it is a little hilly so you will need strong legs!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 883724729114