Stay with us near beautiful Byron Bay and help out with the house and garden, Australia

Country

Australia

Favourited 113 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    3  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    14/02/2019

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least a week

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We live on a 120 acre bush property about 25 minutes from Bryon Bay, 15 mins from mullumbimby and 30 mins to lismore. We live on an intention community with 6 other families in a beautiful valley, with nature abounding. Our land is a wildlife reserve with plentiful native animals and no cats and dogs allowed.

    I have been hosting volunteers for over 20 years and have many fond memories of lots of wonderful people who have helped me with my projects,

    I live in my big old Queenslander house, which I moved to the land in 2000, with my 10 year old son. My partner lives near MT warning and he also comes and goes with his kids. We are not conventional or conservative people and have done a lot of personal growth work and traveling. I am both a counsellor and artist and am passionate about making the world a better place and raising children.

    I also work regularly in Arnhem land with Aboriginal women at an arts and crafts - an aboriginal run arts centre in Oenpelli, where I facilitate screen printing workshops. You can see the arts centre on facebook and pictures of me working if you look under the women's workshops and fabric printing photo albums.

    I am a very happy cheery person who likes to be clear and frank with communication. I prefer that there are no preconceived expectations that I cant meet. As such I will tell you everything as best I can, so you can assess whether my place is right for you. I love it if you are also straight with me as I am a sensitive person, and can always feel it, if someone is not happy. So being on the same page and honest is important to me.

    My lifestyle is pretty fluid with no fixed routine- except getting Sam to school and picking him up everyday. Sam goes to his Fathers on weekends so I am often away up at my partners place and as such, I am not always home.
    So this means you would need to willing to cooking for yourselves as work independantly at times.

    I am also more than willing to arrange your work hours so you can do the things you want to do, whilst visiting our lovely area.
    At the moment I need help with building, painting, tidying up, general house work, playing with Sam , the chickens and who know- there is always something to do.

    unlimited internet and phone available.

    Accomodation is in either a room in my house or a funky caravan close by.
    hope to see you soon !

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Other
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in incredibly beautiful nature which is very pristine. Because we have no cats or dogs here, there is plenty of wild life- walabies everywhere, bandicoots and many others.
    If you want a beautiful retreat like place, that is quiet and away from the party scene- my place is for you. Its lush and green and very peaceful.
    We are living an alternative to the nuclear family paradym, so you will also experience an alternative lifestyle here as well as having a taste of what it feels like to live on a community .

  • Help

    Help

    At the moment I need help with many different projects- there is the usual tidying up around my place and deep cleaning, then if you are skilled there is building projects, painting , paving and plastering to do, I usually wait until we can work out what jobs would suit you best and take it from there.

    I need helpers who are mature and have some life experience and skills- my dreams are - building, painting, gardening etc. You must have good english and be able to work independently. If you have your own car that is great. You need to be open-minded, mature, and happy in your own company as I do not have heaps of time to hang out and chat. As we live in nature, you need to be able to cope with the odd spider as we are very close to the forest.

    My usual exchange is 4- 5 hours per day with the weekends off. I am also happy to adjust this if you want to provide your own food. I need helpers who are grown up and can take care of themselves, cook for themselves and be independant. i do not have a regular routine, so need flexiblilty and an ability to go with the flow. HAving said that, I will try and work in with you as much as possible.

    We are happy if you want to stay long term if we get on well. I enjoy having young 'can do' energy around and have fond memories and made many friends from this site & helped lots of travellers get their 2nd working holdiay visa- though unfortunately due to the government changes, I can no longer offer this.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accomodation is a lovely room in my house or a funky self contained caravan with big deck & outdoor kitchen, not far from my place, amongst the trees.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    On your time off you can visit Byron bay, or go to the forest- minyon falls, bush walks or just hang out.
    I have good wifi, so you can also keep in touch with all your freinds and family.
    There are a few local school bus's that you can take to get places or there are generally rides with other residents from the community going here or there, so rides are possible. However, having your own car is by far the easiest way to get around the hills of Byron bay!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4 - 5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Host ref number: 843161131174