Give me a hand setting up an eco hostel and organic farm in the central Italian countryside.

Country

Italy

Favourited 135 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    7  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    17/11/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    My name is Jordie, I recently returned to the central Italian countryside after almost 20 years away and abroad working as anthropologist, documentary filmmaker, reporter and transmedia author. I lived in Rome, then Brighton and London in the UK, Peru, Rwanda, Afghanistan, Cape Verde and Belgium.
    I grew up and spent up to high school in Ficulle, a little medieval town of 1600 inhabitants in the Umbrian hills. Italy can be a tough country to live in especially in the current political climate, but I decided here is where I want to live a life geared towards quality, surrounded by nature, animals, organic homegrown food and so on.
    My family owns a house and the plan is to set it up at a little eco hostel within an organic farm. We produce organic hazelnuts, spelt, truffles, olive oil, hemp, jams and vegetables. The place is surrounded by woodland and a river runs just a few hundred meters away. The house and surroundings are finally clear from all the mess and being alone with the help of a few friends just once in a while, I am looking for a few people that want to spend the summer, autumn and winter here with me and give me a hand :-)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Here in Vallelibera (which translates into Free Valley) I hope to share the cultural identity of these hills and valleys shaped by medieval city states in continuous war with each other, leaving a landscape dotted by castles and forts, walled tows up on cliffs and antique churches. Squeezed among the Tuscany of Florence and the Lazio region of Rome, Umbria, dubbed the green heart of Italy, inherits the cultural and architectonic influence of the better know cities and the rolling hills famous in Tuscany, but in my opinion is more authentic in its agricultural traditions, customs and relationship with the land.
    I will share all my knowledge regarding living on the land and different elements can be learned depending on the season and the work that needs doing. Work can go from beekeeping to olive trees pruning, from tending the growing hemp to preparing limoncello, from collecting wild edible vegetables to cooking the best lasagna ever. Moreover I have a 15 years experience in the media environment, and although I have decided to take a break, I certainly can share a few tips.
    Having travelled and lived abroad for a long while I now fluently speak Italian, English, Spanish and German, my French is quite decent and I have some basics in Portuguese.

  • Help

    Help

    I am currently looking for a graphic designer to help me create the graphic identity of this place and shape a website, create labels and branding material. Also, as the summer comes to an end I'm organizing work for the winter and as I would like to build some furniture I am also looking for someone with carpentry skills. Apart from that, I need some help with a bit of everything, tending the vegetable garden and the animals, pruning, general maintenance, cooking and cleaning, gardening, chopping wood and get stones off some fields, taking pictures and so on..
    Working in the countryside means ofter to go with the seasons and the weather, the main job (on top of everything above) for the month of September will be the harvest and processing of the hemp, while from around mid october we will concentrate on the olive harvest and producing extra virgin olive oil

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    italian, english, spanish, german, french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    In the house there are 4 extra big double rooms with ensuite bathrooms and a small apartment with one room, one kitchen and one bathroom. One of the rooms is set up with 2 bunk beds.
    Workawayers will stay in their own rooms depending on availability, they could stay either by themselves or in more busy periods share the room with bunk beds.
    Food is obviously provided, most of the times we will probably eat all together, other times workawayers will need to prepare it themselves but ingredients are always provided.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Being in the countryside having a car is a plus so you can be independent in your movements, if you have no car it is easy to get here by train to the Fabro-Ficulle train station which is a 10 min drive from my place and I can easily pick you up. I can obviously drive you to town when you need.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week - totally flexible

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)






Host ref number: 592461826823

Give the gift of Workaway this Christmas
read more