Explore self-sufficient life at our remote family farm in Ullapool, Scotland

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 97 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    27/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    77.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

  • Badges

 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Myself and my partner Julien and newborn son Leon live and work on our farm. We are 8 miles from the village of Ullapool down a private bumpy road so feels very remote and even getting there is a bit of an adventure. We run a hill farm with sheep and cattle and well as a couple of self catered properties. We try and live as self sufficiently as possible producing our own electricity and growing as much as possible in our garden.
    We would really appreciate the extra help around the house and the farm during the summer which is always a busy time.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care
    Language practice

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We love hosting people from all different countries and sharing our way of life with them. We try for self sufficiently, making our own electricity and produce our vegetables and meat from the farm and garden. Volunteers will benefit from an amazing opportunity to stay in the highlands of Scotland living on a traditional hill farm. Julien is French but we speak English at home, so its a great place to improve your English. We try hard to make this a great exchange for both of us, language, music, books, traditions, food and also work and skills.
    You will be out of mobile phone reception and very limited internet as we have a small allowence per month.

  • Help

    Help

    Help required is very dependent on what jobs we are doing when you stay and work is very varied. The most important work will be helping around the house with cooking and cleaning which with a new baby will be much appreciated. There is always lots of maintenance work such as digging, log splitting, painting and fixing to do around the place as well as help in the garden. Farm work depends when you stay as often the animals are out of the hill grazing and don't require much. We are lambing in May, shearing in July and gathering animals in in the autumn. We have chickens, sheep, cows, working dogs and ponies.

  • Languages

    Languages spoken
    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

    This host offers a language exchange
    This host has indicated that they are interested in sharing their own language or learning a new language.
    Please contact them directly for more information.

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We love to make you feel at home here and part of the family so you will be living in our cottage with us. Your bedroom will either be a shared room with other volunteers or a private room depending on availability. We will let you know before if we are expecting other volunteers during your stay. We have double or single beds and a shared bathroom. We cook and eat meals together. I love it when volunteers help with the shopping list, getting the food they love to cook and eat.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are quite remote so good for those people seeking to get of the beaten track and wanting a bit more adventure and lost in nature. On the farm you can enjoy walking, climbing, riding, sailing, fly fishing or staying out in a bothy. We live in an incredible remote location with great walks from the door step.
    The village of Ullapool is 8 miles away. We have bikes you can borrow and happy to offer lifts when we are going. Ullapool is a small but bustling fishing village with cafes, restaurants, art galleries, book shops, pubs and some great live music.
    From Ullapool there is the possibility of exploring further afield. The nearest city is Inverness which is an hour and a half away with a couple of buses going a day.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We can not have large motor homes or vehicles that are low to the ground.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 737942963212