Help in the house in Leamington Spa, UK

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 272 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    24  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    11/11/2018

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Top Host
Contact Register
Host on a map
You need to have a valid Workaway subscription to see a host's map
Sign up
  2018 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a recently retired couple who live in quite a large house, 2 miles from the centre of Leamington Spa. Our children have grown up and gone away so we have plenty of space in the house. We like company and would welcome a volunteer to live as a member of the family and to help with everyday tasks around the house. In January/February I make marmalade which is very time consuming so help over that period is especially needed. In the spring and summer we could do with help with gardening projects. Also help with computers would be good! Greg and I are interested in European languages and enjoy trying to speak French, Italian and a few words of German! If you can help us practise any one of these languages - great! We realise that you want to practise your English - don't worry we will help you with that. There is plenty of free time for the workawayer to go out and discover the local area.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Language practice
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Help

    Help

    The sort of help required is with making meals and clearing up afterwards. Loading the washing machine and dryer. Doing some ironing. Assisting with the shopping. Feeding our pets, a cat and a tortoise! Actually the tortoise hibernates between November and March so doesn't need anything doing to it in the winter. Helping with various projects around the house. You can make this job what you want.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a very sociable couple who like to converse with our workawayer. We like to find out about their country and we will tell them about English expressions and customs. We like to sit in front of the fire in the evenings after dinner and chat to our workawayer. A lively personality with a reasonable level of English would get on well in our household. I like cooking and will encourage the volunteer to use my recipes to make meals or they can bring their own recipes! They can learn about English cooking. I go to the gym a lot and you can come with me if you would like to.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, French and very basic Italian

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Very nice bedroom with separate bathroom in our house. Use of wifi.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We live not far from Stratford Upon Avon, Warwick and Oxford all of which are interesting places to visit. Also, visits to London are possible. We live in a village on a bus route into Leamington Spa which is 2 miles away. The nearest train station is in Leamington Spa and the nearest airport is Birmingham.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    One

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album

Decorating a cake
Making mincepies for Christmas
Riding the trams in San Francisco!












Host ref number: 833814771336