Native Spanish (couple or Female only) for language practice and to enjoy the Beach! Toronto, Canada

updated
Country

Canada

Favourited 190 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    18  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    19/06/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 2 days

  • Badges

    Super Host
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 3 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Unique opportunity to enjoy TORONTO & the beach at LONGPOINT!
    We are learning Spanish so it is important to host visitors to help us with the language practice. For July/August our daughters spends a lot of time at the beach (and we would like someone up there - sorry only couple or female person) so that it is safer for her to go into the water as she is very active with swimming, kayaking, kiteboarding, boating... and we cannot always be up there with her : (
    You should be available to stay at three weeks or more....

    You will be welcomed into our family of four. We are well travelled and enjoy meeting people from different cultures and backgrounds. We would love to learn about your culture and hear of your adventures.

    Two of us here only speak English - so if you want to improve your english you will have that opportunity.
    One of us speaks intermediate French and basic/intermediate Spanish.
    One of us speaks basic Spanish. (Si usted habla español, le pediremos que hable en español a dos de nosotros e inglés con los demás - Gracias!)

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Help in the house
    Language practice

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We can introduce you to Toronto culture and activities nearby. We are looking for someone that wants to join our duaghter on LONGPOINT with beach and cottage activities and other outings when there is an opportunity . The cottage is on Lake Erie near port dover/port Rowan) which is a biosphere reserve - with a great beach and birding area.

  • Help

    Help

    You just need to be very nice and want to spend a lot of time talking with us in Spanish.

    There is no scheduled work - but please take care of yourself (we provide food, but you need to know how to cook for yourself), tidy up after yourself and do regular chores because you are living here....

    Our daughter has a rabbit that she takes up to the cottage with her - so you will need to be friendly with the rabbit too and take it our for petting, etc...

    You need to be responsible, positive, energetic, an early riser, and love spending time outside! especially on the beach.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, some French, limited spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Private space (see photos) but otherwise shared.
    We will do the grocery shopping and provide basic food.
    At the cottage you will have your own small room (two beds)

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Our daughter drives - so she can take you up and back from the cottage. There is a provincial park within walking distance, but you will need a ride to the nearest town (10 minutes away) which has store, library, wifi.

    In Toronto, we are within a 5 min walking distance to library, indoor pool, gym, indoor skating rink, cafes, restaurants, neighbourhood shops.... Also a short walk to the subway with a 20 min ride to downtown.

    Toronto is a diverse multicultural center with almost any kind of activity that you can think of. There are numerous art galleries, museums, theatre venues.... some of which can be quite costly, but there is also many free events throughout the city too.

    Directions to our home:
    Bus Terminal ( at Bay and Dundas) : take underground PATH tunnel to our ttc subway, Dundas Station, on line 1, go Northbound on line 1 to Bloor Station, and transfer to line 2, go westbound on line 2 .... and follow walking directions from subway station that we will provide on confirmation
    (Subway fare is cash $3.25 - if you have exact change you can drop it in the collector box and go straight through to avoid waiting in line to purchase tickets). This trip can be done in under an hour total time.

    From Train Station ( Union ): there is an underground connection to our ttc subway line 1 (union station). You are on line 1 - both trains go northbound to line 2 - transfer at st. George station OR bloor station and go westbound on line 2 ... ( see instructions included with bus terminal directions) This trip can be done in under an hour total time.

    From Pearson airport: there is ttc public transportation service (for only $3.25!) to our house from the airport as follows: take the 192 airport rocket to Kipling station ( this bus is fast and express making only 2 or 3 stops and runs frequently but I have never taken it) Kipling station is at the end of line 2 on the subway - board ttc train at either side of platform and go eastbound...following instructions we will provide on confirmation. Note that you will need to walk about 5 minutes to our house from the subway station with your luggage. Guess total time is about 45 min.
    OR : airport taxi - taxi fare is determined by city zones - we are cheaper than downtown at about $ 35 but it depends on taxi taken, time of day, so do your research - driving time without delays is approximately 15 min directly to our house ( Uber may be more costly from the airport as they have a huge surcharge to pay)

    Happy travelling ....

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    It is just for SPANISH language practice - and accompanying our daughter (adult) at the beach so she can more safely enjoy water activities

Welcome
This space will be for your exclusive use during your stay.... queen size fold out bed
“Entrance” to your sleeping area and private space
View of street from front window of house
Conversation ... en Español
Carlos, Dec 2017 - Jan 2018 *** Thank you for shovelling after the snowstorms ☃️
This is Juno our dwarf rabbit - of course, we call her Jumbo
The back yard - after a snowfall ☃️
At the cottage beach - 2 hours from toronto - but we stay overnight











Host ref number: 818631485856