Beautiful remote nature in Portugal, Alentejo☀️, garden, woodwork, construction, etc.

updated
Country

Portugal

Favourited 65 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    6  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    03/05/2019

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

  • Badges

Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a young-hearted couple in the late 50ties from Switzerland and Germany with two adopted dogs, a little, sweet senior and a lively but lovely big young dog, both had been abondoned and appreciate their safe and loving home. We are installing ourselves in our holiday house/property for a possible permanent stay. You are warmly welcome if you‘re also honest-hearted and friendly, love and respect nature, like to share your possible skills or else learn some, like to work hard, get dirty at work and to generally be a clean person, outside but also inside your heart and mind. We enjoy the quiet and remote countryside and go for walks with our dogs, occasionally go cycling or go to the beach, do lots of work outside in the field and garden, love healthy and fresh food and we usually like quiet evenings. Are you also open-minded for new ideas and activities and appreciate cultural exchanges? There are lots of possible projects at our place we can do in team-work or partly individually.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Art project

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Welcome at our home and enjoy nature and calm area in a remote place in Alentejo (just north of Algarve), Portugal, surrounded by trees, bushes, flowers, January to June picking oranges and of course eating ;-) them, lemons, learn about some herbs for cooking and tea, relax in lovely clean house with big glazed winter garden, view to sea (10km areal distance), learn about nature, cooking together, baking Swiss cake, maybe making a Portuguese dish, lots of happy gardening, depending on the season you can enjoy organic vegies and salad from our own garden, eggs and meat and fresh milk (if you like all that) we normally buy at local farms. We also have a piano, just lack practice to play really. There’s lots of space outside with tables, deckchairs, etc. You may go cycling with us and you can borrow one of our bikes, you can go on short or long walks or a run, in the evening enjoy the sunset outside or in the winter garden, read a book, with a cup of tea with herbs from the garden or a glass of Portuguese wine.

  • Help

    Help

    In beautiful remote Portuguese countryside with view to the sea. Depending on your skills there are various possible projects: lots of different garden work, possibly building, various woodwork also for pergola, making pallet furniture, little renovation, painting, maybe building walls with natural stones from property, cooking, cleaning, baking, sewing curtains etc.
    You enjoy working outside, partly inside as well, please bring along good working clothes and also good shoes for the countryside and garden and a hat and any necessary sun protection.
    It’s important that you love dogs, too. It would be lovely if you would like to also take them for walks.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, German, Schwytzerdütsch, French (only one of us), basic Portuguese

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Remote, clean house, little separate room for you and guest bathroom with shower. Our house is partly traditional and modern, glazed winter garden, modern kitchen.
    Our home is really out in the wonderful countryside, we only have solar system for electricity and our own well for water, which means you have a chance to appreciate these resources with moderate use and conscious approach and respect for our wonderful nature.
    There is absolutely no public transport from here, but we can pick you up, 20 minutes drive to the next town, 30 minutes drive to the beach.
    We have mostly healthy food, we are growing food in our garden but partly also have to buy fresh food in the shops. We love vegies, salad, fruit, sometimes barbecue etc. and occasionally wine. We like local meat and fish but we also often cook vegetarian meals. Therefore, vegetarians are welcome too :-)
    We usually cook for lunch between 2-3 pm, whereas breakfast, dinner and in-between snacks you can just help yourself with fresh food is that is always available. We prefer non-smokers and normally enjoy quiet evenings.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We would pick you up from the next town, São Teotónio, coaches commute either from Lisbon airport southwards within 3 hours to that town or else northwards by train from Faro to Lagos and by bus from Lagos to S Teotónio. Sometimes, if we need to do shopping near Faro we could then combine taking you to the airport or picking you up. If you wish, we can take you once or maybe twice a week to a place you may like nearby (beach, town, etc.) because we really live in a remote place. In summer, there is sometimes a stone pizza evening in the neighborhood we can invite you to on a Friday evening. You may also enjoy barbecue/grilling with either meat or vegies.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Host ref number: 817626137241