Help young farmers develop a new sustainable farm in Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canada

updated  

Favourited 48 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    2  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    18/01/2021

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

 
  2021 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are an enthusiastic couple starting a small farm in Musquodoboit Harbour, NS with our baby Husky Luna.We spent this past summer building a barn and raising some animals. This summer we plan to continue raising animals and adding to our farm. We are aiming for traditional methods of farming and have a lot of biodiversity. We are not from a farming background and this has been a great adventure for us & we plan to continue (just need a little help). We are raising chickens, ducks, pigs, rabbits, (maybe a goat for fun) and boarding horses. We also hope to do some gardening with the compost created by our animals.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Art Projects
    Gardening
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live about 45 minutes outside of Halifax, NS, just along the ocean. There are lots of wonderful outdoor activities all around us (kayaking, swimming, hiking, climbing, etc.). We are both from Quebec and moved to Nova Scotia to enjoy its beauty and tranquility. You would be part of the family as the extra room is in our basement and we would share all our meals. When not working you can enjoy hammocking and hottubing while looking at the ocean.

  • Help

    Help

    We are just starting our farm and looking for help this summer. Tasks will range from helping us take care of animals, gardening, putting up fences, cooking, engaging the community, etc. We currently have chickens, ducks and rabbits. In the spring we will also have horses and pigs. The tasks will be extremely diverse as we are just starting out and the amount of work is quite high despite our small size. We do expect a hard worker and someone that is comfortable around animals and dealing with animal wastes.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Large finished basement with private bathroom/shower and queen bed. Meals are provided, however, help cooking would be appreciated. We try to eat as healthy as possible and aim to eat as much from what we produce.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We are a laid back, young couple and enjoy our little paradise. However, we definitely understand the need to explore your surroundings. Therefore, we are open to offering rides in town or up to hiking site or wherever you would like to go.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Host ref number: 146555796881