Yoga Instructor or Housekeeper for a sustainable homestead in South Bohemia with yoga deck, alpaca llama treks, foraging, live and wild food.

Favourited 718 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    91  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    27/10/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    440

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    93.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a British couple who have moved to Central Europe to make a more sustainable life for ourselves and explore a different culture at an interesting point in history. We're located in beautiful South Bohemia on the edge of the Czech Lake District and Highlands, 70 miles south of Prague.
    Our animal entourage consists of several hens, ducks, a goose, cats, 2 merino sheep, a goat, an alpaca/llama and a Rhodesian Ridgeback dog.
    We have a garden full of perennial veggies, and have a good understanding of the many wild foods in the area. Currently we have lots of eggs from the ducks and hens, as well as milk from our goat Dijon, even though she has never had a kid. We eat a lot of home cooked & veggie food using local ingredients, & currently we have a lot of eggs.
    Contact us if you are self motivated and recognise how fun and satisfying it is to work hard. We host volunteers for up to one month at a time & welcome return visitors.

    Please arrange to arrive on a Monday. Nic works an average of fifteen hours a day when co-ordinating volunteers, looking after the animals and all other business, and Mike usually does not finish working at the computer till 8.30 pm. The weekends are important recovery time for us and your arrival on a Monday means that we get to have some "normal" life as you will know your way round by then.

    We are now full for the summer, except for the position of full-time house keeper or qualified yoga instructor. If this is of interest to you, please get in contact.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️PHP and Javascript would be handy if you want to help us with computers/internet stuff*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Cooking / shopping
    Farming
    Help with Eco project
    Help in the house
    Animal care

  • Help

    Help

    We are a small homestead & have just started out with bed and breakfast. We work hard - there is a lot to do - but have a very good quality of life in this beautiful area. Currently we are looking for practical volunteers who can help around the house, as well as get involved in the ongoing renovation projects.
    While there's snow on the ground there's not so much to do so we don't invite volunteers during those months, we still host B&B guests or short term house sharers though.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Czech

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Twin beds in private rooms. We can host larger groups.
    Please note that the heating goes on automatically when the temperature goes below 10 degrees C inside the house overnight, 18 degrees when we get up and go to bed and 12 degrees during the day. We have warm clothing you can borrow.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Breathtaking countryside surrounds the property, both forests and open fields. The country roads are lined with pear, plum and cherry trees, and there's an abundance of wild flowers such as chamomile, poppies and cornflowers. Visitors to the area often spend time picking mushrooms and wild fruit (cranberries, bilberries, strawberries & raspberries all grow in the forest near the house). Other local wildlife include deer & wild boars. In the summer the garden is lively with birdsong, you can visit the bats in the attic and watch the firefly in the evening. In the winter there are wood fires, snow cover, blue skies and beautiful frosted trees.
    Local sights includes the Hussite fortress town Tábor, plentiful walks and cycle routes (on well marked out routes), a narrow gauge railway, Cervena Lhota (a red castle in a lake with an outdoor theatre) and countless outdoor swimming opportunities.
    There is a village with a beautiful chocolate cafe, basic shops, pubs and restaurants 4km from the house, from where there is a direct bus to Prague. There is a (n early) daily bus from outside the door to Ceske Budejovice - the main town of the region. We also have (old) bikes you can borrow.
    The house is two miles from the site of the last Czech Hussite battle in 1435. The property is well situated for those wishing to visit the 7 World Heritage sites in the area.
    While you are here, we would love to teach you what we know about sustainable living, edible mushrooms, wild greens, knitting and restoring woodwork.
    As well as foraging for fuel, mushrooms and wild greens, we bake our own bread, and make our own pasta using fresh eggs from our ducks and hens. One of us is veggie and the other is a keen cook and meat eater - so we're always happy to accommodate herbivores, omnivores and anything in between. We eat a sustainable diet with lots of home-grown veggies but occasionally buy free range meat to cook a builder's breakfast or Sunday roast dinner.
    We can host workawayers from whenever the snow melts in the spring (usually by April) to when it falls again in the winter (Novemberish). Though we have space for a housekeeper (or a couple) over the winter you would have to be hardy souls to deal with the cold.
    Please make the most sustainable travel arrangements you can to reach us - Europe has a good coach travel network and though the prices of short haul flights are tempting, think of the CO2. We will give an extra weekend off to anyone who arrives here without air travel.
    To reach us on workdays you need to catch the train R645 at 14.34 from Prague main railway station to Soběslav at 16.16 and then a bus from Soběslav. There is no Saturday bus service.

    Please let us know in your first email approximately when you would like to visit. We work very hard as a family , so to allow us to have some free time over the weekend we ask you to arrange your arrival for a Monday afternoon. A four week stay is appropriate to learn what we have to teach as well as know enough to be helpful.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    If you are here for more than two weeks you can work towards a Certificate of Accomplishment in sustainable life skills. This will mean completing a check-list of tasks including learning to milk the goat, identifying edible wild greens and making a repair.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours per day plus communal meals and chores. Minimum 2 weeks.

My Photo Album

A picture by a talented illustrator and workawayer who stayed with us in 2011.
One of the three cats who share with us - but we do have a cat free bedroom for visitors with allergies.





























































Host ref number: 7941336554a3