Come to Yellowstone Country in beautiful Montana, USA

  • United States
  • Favourited 658 times
  • Last activity: 23 Nov 2023



 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks



  • Description


    This is our 11th year to be a Workaway host. Total we have had over 40 plus workaways over the years. This has become one of the things we look forward to each year as we have had a wonderful time. Our farm is a small 20 acre hobby farm in the valley of Helena, Montana. We raise chickens and a large garden, almost a third of an acre and expanding. We hope to store and to can a good bit for the upcoming winter. There is lots to do and we would welcome some great help.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Language practice
    Help with Eco Projects
    DIY and building projects
    Animal Care
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance
    Help with Computers/ Internet
  • UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainability goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We are a working family in Montana, a place different from most other places in the states. It is in a more northern climate, rural, beautiful and full of interesting mountain adventures. If you are looking for a beautiful location to volunteer and learn in, this is the spot. Not only will you be learning from what we already have going on at the farm, but you will be learning alongside us.
    We have recently reconnected with a woman here in Helena who teaches English as a second language. The classes are for free, generally three times a week for 2 hours or so. She does take a donation to help with her expensies. She is certified as a "Teacher Of English AS A Second LAnguage." She is a joy to be around and makes learning English a lot of fun.

  • Help


    This year, 2024, we would welcome help with many projects:
    • Planting and harvesting garden vegetables
    • Weeding
    Starting new gardening area
    Planting and watering new fields grass
    Planting a reclaimed pasture, hopefully bring on a couple of cows if we can get the pasture started.
    • Watering
    • Maintaining lawn
    • Feeding, Care, and watering animals
    Interior Painting
    Greenhouse tasks
    Hope to build a shop
    We have a wide variety of tasks to offer. Gardening will be your main task. We are looking for someone who is hard working and enjoys animals. We have accomplished a lot over the last 9 years and hope to continue moving forward.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We live in a large 6 Bedroom/4 bath house in which a Workaway will have their own space and privacy. The view from our front window is of the lovely Elkhorn Mountains. You can see for about 30 miles in three directions. You will have your own room and bathroom. We want you to eat with us, be a part of our family, and enjoy good table conversation.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    We want our workaways to be a part of our family while they are here. We ask that they participate in the things that we do as if they are a part of our family. Smoking is not encouraged. We do love good beer though and you can expect to visit some phenomenal breweries with us, if you like beer. I also enjoy making beer. This is all part of the cultural experience we offer at the Farm.
    We are about 15 minutes outside of Helena and public transportation is not available. Between my wife and I we go into Helena daily. Aside from that there are lots of activities in Helena you can enjoy. Hiking, indoor and outdoor soccer league, biking, fishing, floating the Missouri River and much more.
    We are about 3 hours from Yellowstone National Park and 4 from Glacier National Park, during the summer we often find a way to get our Workawayers to the parks. Yellowstone is usually open about the end of May and Glacier about the end of June due to snow. Aside from these places, mountains, lakes and rivers, surround us offering endless areas to explore.
    We have been doing Workaway since 2013. We have had to date over 40 Workaways come and be with us. We have meet many super wonderful people and hope to meet more in the future. Take a moment and read what some of our Workaway friends have to say about their time with us. Hope to see you soon. Blessings!!

    Volunteering hours asked
    5 hours a day/5 days a week
    A few minutes on Saturday and Sunday to feed the chickens

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This past year, 2023, we got a line into our home. We now have 300 megabites, extremely fast internet and plenty of it.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    We have plenty of room to park, BUT we still only desire one workaway at a time.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    5 hours 5 days a week

Host ref number: 998372747855

Feedback (28)



These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)

Come and experience the peace of the valley and help with our non-profit project in Pennsylvania, USA
Off-grid living in the Bradshaw mountains, central Arizona, USA