Learn how to provide yourself with a healthy, beautiful, soulful shelter in North Karelia, Finland

Favourited 43 times

updated

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    19/09/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    97.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 3 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We are Mick 38 carpenter from Ireland, Marja 31 from Finland and our two kids Leo 3 years and Luna 7 months. We live in the countryside in North Karelia 20 km from Joensuu city center. We are building a debt free, natural, straw bale insulated roundhouse to have a debt free life in. We bought in December 2016 five hectares of forest land adjoining a lake and the fields of Marja's Dads organic vegetable farm.
    We want to live a simple life in the countryside, close to nature and growing most of our own food. In season we pick lots of mushrooms and berries for preserving.
    You will be sharing our rented farm house which is a 500 meter walk through the forest to the building site.
    We are expecting the main house project to last 2 years; this year 2017 post and beam structure, roof and water proofing, fitting windows and if there is a good grain summer straw bales from the neighbor's field. Next year 2018 clay plastering, chimney, masonry mass stove, interior work, doors, floors, stairs etc.
    If you have interest in sustainable building, natural building, working with hand tools, organic vegetable growing, being in nature, following natural seasonal cycles, berry picking, mushroom picking, getting or staying out of the rat race I'm sure we will get along.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    Help in the house

  • Help

    Help

    You will become a member of our building team, and we are happy to find something that suits your skills or ability. The jobs will be varied over the length of the project, but will include peeling trees for building wood, general carpentry, roofing, making wooden shingles, straw bale erecting, clay plastering and many other things.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English, Finnish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    We have two bedrooms available in our traditional Finnish farm house. We eat only vegetarian food at home. We have all food together, simple, local wholesome mostly organic food. And fresh eggs from our own hens.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Free time: we live by two lakes to swim in, we can give you bicycles to go for a cycle and you can cycle to Joensuu 20km, there is a restaurant in the local village! You can do berry and mushroom picking later in the summer, walks in the woods, we have regular sauna.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Learn how to provide yourself with a healthy, beautiful soulful shelter, which you will not need a thirty year bank loan for!

Photos


My Photo Album


Foundation stones in place waiting for floor beams
Building our cob oven
The whole family on the beach in Ireland
Marja peeling logs with Luna asleep on the back
Sketches of ideas for house
Marja, Luna and Leo
Play dough model of house

Feedback



Host ref number: 722448694749