Idyllic, tropical, small farm in the Bay of Islands, New Zealand

Country

New Zealand

updated  

Favourited 211 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    9  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    01/12/2020

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    91.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 1 day

  • Badges

    Good Host
 
  2020 

 Min stay requested: at least 2 weeks

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    Alpacas and mini highland cows on a 15 acre plot in the Bay of Islands need your help! We have 6 alpacas, three cows, ducks, roosters, peahens and some mad guinea fowl and our lovely dog, Honey. We're originally from Kenya, used to run a backpackers there, so we love meeting new people and talking about their travels. We constantly need people to help out - whether it's a new project or tweaking an old one!

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Gardening
    General Maintenance
    Farmstay help
    Help around the house
    Animal Care

  • UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN sustainablity goals this host is trying to achieve

    UN goals
    No poverty
    Zero hunger
    Good health and well-being
    Quality education
    Gender equality
    Clean water and sanitation
    Affordable and clean energy
    Decent work and economic growth
    Industries, innovation and infrastructure
    Reduce inequality
    Sustainable cities and communities
    Responsible consumption and production
    Climate action
    Life below water
    Life on land
    Peace, justice and strong institutions
    Partnerships for the goals
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    It's a fun way to get to know alpacas and highland cows - you can interact as much or as little as you want. We are new to this and are learning all the time and the only way we can learn is by talking to other people!

  • Help

    Help

    We're looking for a couple who can help out around the property from feeding the alpacas to helping out around the house or using the ride on mower, for a couple of hours a day. We're pretty easy going about hours so you would have plenty of time to do your own thing but we really are looking for a couple to come and stay for a while, ideally a month or more!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is a cabin in the garden, separate from the main house, with a small kitchen/dining area and bathroom. You'd have your own space and privacy, complete with a small bbq to use. For a couple of hours work we wouldnt provide food, you would be totally independent.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    In the 'Winterless North' ideally situated in between Kerikeri and Waipapa with the famous Rainbow Falls just a stroll away. There's no public transport here so a car would be handy but not vital if you dont mind a walk. Pahia is about 20 mins away....a great place to explore the Bay of Islands - we have a bike you can borrow.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    This host has indicated that they love having digital nomads stay.

  • Space for parking camper vans

    Space for parking camper vans

    This host can provide space for campervans.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 2 hours a day, 5 days a week

These are extra optional ratings when members leave feedback. The average rating left for each option is displayed.

Accuracy of profile: (5.0)

Cultural exchange: (4.7)

Communication: (5.0)








Host ref number: 819378475471