Come and live with our family in Rhone-Alpers, South of France



Favourited 231 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Last activity


  • Badges

    Good Host
  • Description


    We will consider taking workawayers for that purpose most likely in September maybe in august:
    Come and live in the South of France, with us for a few weeks, or months.
    A little about us: We are a mum and daughter: me, a dutch fashion designer turned illustrator, I have been living in the US until a couple years ago when we had to be back in the Drôme, the beautiful region where I was born and raised, with my daughter, a vibrant 4 year old, very playful and sweet.
    We are looking for an English speaking (native preferred), to spend time with my daughter so she learns her daddy's language (daddy is still in the US).
    And we are looking for someone who wants to help set up the garden (we can accommodate 2 workawayers (private room for each, or room for couples with king size mattress on the floor, how ever you prefer)).

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Babysitting and creative play
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    General Maintenance
    Help around the house
    Language practice

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Looking forward to exchange stories about travels and home. Learn some French cuisine and teach us some of your cooking. and for the house sitters the exchange will be upon arrival and with locals in town.

  • Help


    We are in a beautiful medieval town called Crest, (google it for images), in a splendid hill side old house in the old part of the town, with a small garden, overlooking the roofs and with a marvelous view of the 3 becs mountain.
    As we have a garden additional activities can be looking into turning it into a small permaculture garden.

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    French: Fluent
    Dutch: Fluent

  • Accommodation


    Private room with a king size mattress (on the ground), and nearly private bathroom (as we use another one, mostly). Other room with another double mattress.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    The Drôme is well known for being the region in France with the most organic farm, Saturday, and Tuesday a great farmers markets is just a few steps down from the house. Great hiking opportunity, walk up behind the house and you go from being in town, along the highest medieval tower of France (open to tourists) to beautiful trails in forest and along the fields. The close-by Vercors mountains offer rock-climbing, paragliding, wild water kayaking, etc
    In summer months many rivers close-by have great swimming holes. Amazing restaurants and wine tasting are another common reason for people to come and enjoy the Drôme. Lot's of initiatives exist to connect with local french, through discussion groups, boardgames playing group, etc, so it shall be easy for you on your time of to connect with other French besides our friends, if you'd like to improve your french while here.
    Besides playing with my daughter, some help in the general maintenance (cooking, shopping) would be appreciate, just as a regular "family" member. Vegetarians welcome. We are not, but can turn vegetarian the time of your stay, and we can exchange some recipes. Basically we hope we can all share a lovely 'joie de vivre" and make you love our little southern heaven and that in return you'll be fun and responsible while caring for a 3 year old, or helping in the garden/house.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 348324596268