Looking for Workawayers to help with our horses on farm, North Yorkshire Moors, England

Country

United Kingdom

Favourited 780 times


  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Last activity

    21/05/2019

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1327

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    87.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 13 days

  • Badges

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
Contact Register
  2019 

 Min stay requested: at least 1 month

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    We are a small horse farm on the edge of the North Yorkshire moors with mainly horses, but also a cat, two goats, hens and two dogs.

    We are a young (ish) couple with a new baby. James is a horse farrier and Charlotte runs the yard at home. We have around 15 horses here and people come most days to ride their horses. Come May the horses go out in the fields and the barns are used to host weddings so the work varies from the winter to the summer quite a lot!

    It is a lovely rural area, in a beautiful setting with lots of walking on the doorstep. The nearest market town is only 1 mile away, Kirkbymoorside, which has a farmers market every Wednesday. There is a bus stop 10 minutes walk away which you can get to places like Pickering, Helmsley, Whitby and York.

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Babysitting / child care
    General Maintenance
    Cooking / shopping
    Farmstay
    Help in the house
    Animal care
    Help with Computers / internet

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    The area is a truly English countryside area and right on the edge of the beautiful North Yorkshire moors with fantastic hiking and tourist attractions. It's a good place for people wanting some down time too.

    You can visit Whitby, Scarborough, york, pickering. All accessible by bus. We also have bikes you can use.

  • Help

    Help

    The tasks in the winter are mainly mucking out the horses, putting in the fields, changing rugs, cleaning tack and feeding the goats and chickens. Wehave two local staff so the work is mainly to help with Charlotte’s own horses (4 of them). So it is usually 4 stables to do. We ask that you can do 4/5 hours a day, 5 days a week and the rest of your time is yours to do what you like! If you want more time off that is fine we like to be flexible and fit around you. Somebody who is happy to ‘chip in’ is great. Occasional cook and If you are comfortable with it, play with our little son or take the dogs for a walk.
    If you can ride well there will be opportunity to do this and if somebody is capable of schooling great as I have a young horse who needs training.

    In the summer time the help is mainly riding (if you can) and Poo picking the fields!


    Our farm would best suit two friends or a couple or somebody who is independent.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Accommodation is either in the house or in a large mobile home which has 2 double bedrooms living room kitchen toilet and shower. You will have your own bedroom. Sometimes two friends share a double bed. We have a digital TVs and DVD player and it is heated. In the house you have your own bedroom. You have to be prepared to sometimes make your own meals but there will be plenty of food.

    Internet wifi is good in the house. We have an extender to the mobile home and it's not as strong but we are in a very strong 4g area so if you have a mobile phone or can link it to your laptop this will help you use it in the static.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    There are some great places to visit and you can do this easily by local buses or our bikes. York is a stunning city as is Whitby by the coast. You can catch the train from Pickering to Whitby which is a fantastic experience.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • ...

    Hours expected

    4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week (Max. 25 hours/week)

Towards the helpers kitchen
Static living room
One of the bedrooms in the static
Charlotte at a horse show with google
The yard arena
Helpers helping at a wedding
A helper out hacking
Charlotte with foxtrot, Doris and the two goats
The farm house in winter














Host ref number: 676668942666