Unique opportunity to help on farm/ranch in Berne paradise!

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    13  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    22/05/2017

  • facebook friends

    Nº of Facebook friends

    1637

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    90.0%

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 9 days

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D




  • Description

    Description

    We moved our dreams (and sheep, horses, cat, and dog) from California to New York! Our workawayer's have this unique opportunity to help us grow our organic 56 acre working farm/ranch to be the most productive and sustainable on the East Coast! We are located at the foothills of a large mountain range and are nestled between a few other mountain ranges! At 1400 feet our farm has a wonderful view night and day!

    We have a rigorous interview process which includes a set of references and a resume. Ideally, we would like to Skype as well, but sometimes we don't get to it! We want to make sure that the fit is perfect for us as well as you! An ideal Workaway'er would like to stay at least for one to two seasons growing and learning from and with us! Oversea's workawayers- 3 months.

    We are looking for Workawayers who have/want the following skill-sets and who are also open to teaching and learning from others:

    ~ Agronomy

    ~ Carpentry/design... including using recycled and green materials

    ~ Green Energy

    ~ Organic Farming Skills

    ~ Shepherding

    ~ Fence building

    ~ Composting

    ~ Herbologist/ Viticulture/ Brewing

    ~ Photojournalism to chronicle our organic journey

    ~ Finish your Master's thesis here!

    ~ We are open to all ideas!

    Enjoy your off time riding horses (if you can ride wild Arabians), running along mountain roads, canoeing and swimming in our artesian-fed pond under the stars, or camping in the 17 acre forest. A major city is about 30 minutes away. We can plan trips as needed. From there it is a very cheap bus ride to NYC where you can party and "live it up" in your off time! We feed 3 meals a day or there will be food available for you! (We can make an effort to feed a vegetarian diet, but a vegan, raw food, or gluten free diet will be too hard and expensive to shop for. We can take you to the store; however, and you can personally purchase special items needed for your diet.) You will be treated as an honored guest, but also as a vital member of the farm!

    Typical Day: We are a working farm. That means that all animals get fed twice a day. We get up and are starting our day by 0800. Night chores usually start around 4pm. Morning and night chores only take an hour or so each dependent on how many people are involved. ** I'm a Nurse in NYC, so there will be times when it is just the guests on the farm. We usually always have someone there that "knows what they're doing" though.

    Transportation is ideal so that you can leave the farm when you want (we try not to keep any prisoners!), but not required.

    We speak English and some Spanish badly. We enjoy learning new languages and cultures!

    Although we love children and pets, we cannot accommodate them at this time as we are a working farm.

    Come and join us! Check out our past workawayer's comments...

    Together, we can make our organic dreams a reality!

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Gardening
    Building
    Cooking / shopping
    General Maintenance
    Farming
    Animal care
    Other

  • Help

    Help

    We are going to design the nicest garden, grow hay, we are in the middle of building a chicken palace, plan and build fencing and sheep chutes, and design an interior for the existing barn for our sheep and lambs. We are working very closely with the USDA and Albany County Soil and Water Conservation for the 2017 season to put in fencing, a rotational grazing system, and pasture water.

    Our plans:

    2016 Fall/Winter: Get hay in! Get ready for winter. Finish our chicken house! Enjoy winter sports including sledding and iceskating/ pond hockey on the property!

    2017 Spring/ Summer: We are in full swing. Starting the veggies inside. Plan out the garden. Plant it. Install drip systems. Learn about different methods of organic planting and methods of weed and insect control. Build a composting system. Plant bare root fruit trees and berry vines. Cut a lot of wood. Learn how to can and make jams with our own fruit grown on the property.

    To add on to that, we are also planning on designing and building a music studio in the Fall 2017...

    ...all of this just 2.5 hours from NYC. ($90 train, $25 bus)
    ... 3 hours from Boston
    ... Hours from the Canadian Border/ Niagara Falls (About $100 round trip on the train)
    ... Catskills/ Adirondacks

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    English and some Spanish

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    Our cozy 3,300 sq foot farm house has 3 furnished bedrooms with hardwood floors, closets, and large windows... in need of some renovation but much better than a tent! Nestle down in front of one of the three fireplaces or sit outside on our porch around a small fire! We also have 2 shared bathrooms! We have wifi during the day (like internet acess), but no streaming wi-fi until midnight as we are on the largest, but very limitied satellite plan. Free from midnight to 5 am.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    Again, close to the Catskills, Adirondacks, Boston, and New York City by bus is 2.5 hours away.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    More than two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You will improve your English (If needed!) and be a part of our "Farm Family". We can arrange to take you to a bus stop or the train if you want to get down to NYC or take a few days off and roam! New York is so close to everything wonderful on the upper East Coast. There are times that we take everyone out as well. There are also a lots of places to hike and explore around the farm.

  • ...

    Volunteering hours expected

    5 hours per day 5 days a week

Photos

Our Farm

Click images to enlarge

Host ref number: 623424451196

Feedback

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

This workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private, but can be contacted regarding this feedback by other workawayers.

Excellent
(Excellent)

This Workawayer has chosen to keep their profile private.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

We only allow contact to Workawayers with active subscriptions.

Excellent
(Excellent)

Please log in and visit this profile to leave your feedback.

Some of our top hosts