Handyman-woman welcomed to share homelife in Montreal, Canada

Favourited 28 times

  • rating

    Host rating

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    4  

  • last activity

    Last Activity

    03/11/2017

  • Last email replied

    Reply rate

    66.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Average reply time:

    within 4 days

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Description

    Description

    I'm a single mom, art therapist and lover of life and its surprises. I'm in my forties and enjoying the groundedness and openess that come with it. I love pretty much everything that I am doing now; guiding and supporting my kids' growth, working with families in crisis, tending my garden, loving my lover, my cats and my friends and family. I'm also a homeowner with more stuff to do than I have the time and skills for. I've been learning to slow down and ask for help - and this is one way to do it! The building needs upkeep and repairs that would be too long to do by myself (and dare I say - boring!).

  • Type of help

    Type of help

    Building
    General Maintenance

  • Help

    Help

    Relatively unskilled work:
    Summer 2017: - grind and paint the metal railings outside (probably 3 big days' work) (MY PRIORITY!!)
    - replace 2 stairs (couple of hours)

    Anytime:
    - paint the hallway
    - sand and varnish wooden stairs
    - painting french doors and setting non-see-thru sticky stuff on the glass
    - redoing the caulking around the bathtub
    - spraypainting a light ficture (involves removing and resetting the light- I am afraid of touching electricity even though everytime I see someone do it I always tell myself that it's super simple and that I'll do i t myself next time)
    - undo a bedframe (return to original design) (priority)
    - paint a desk and some bedroom walls
    - strip some old ceramics form the wall (and replaster - that's skillled work)

    Skilled work: CARPENTRY AND PLASTERING
    Summer 2017: - build a pergola and make the wooden fence higher by a foot (few days's work)
    Anytime: - Sanding and plastering the bathroom ceiling
    - cutting and nailing boards that are at the bottom of the walls (dining room and one bedroom)
    - changing the bathroom sink handles

    For some of the jobs I could participate, but ideally I would love to be able to put someone to work while I go to my day job - (I work in a children's shopital with cancer patients and their families). The equivalent of 4 or 5 hours' work a day would be expected, but it's best with this type of work to put in big days and get it done and out of the way, as it crowds the living space. In return I would provide a cooked dinner and sometimes breakfast (I cook breakfast when the kids are home), and a full fridge that you can help youself to the rest of the time, as well as a private bedroom.

  • Languages spoken

    Languages spoken

    english and french

  • Accommodation

    Accommodation

    I live in a three bedroom apartment, so it's a little tight when the kids are there (one week out of two).

    During the school year, I think the best is to offer my son's room since he likes to sleep in the living room anyway - but that entails having no access to the living room after 8pm on weeknights. I think that I can accomodate 2 people if they are very easy going and good friends confortable sharing the bedroom, one matress on the floor and the other in the bed. It's more conftaoble for one person only, but if there's a couple or good friends out there that would love to come together, I'm open to the idea.

    The kids are gone much of the summer. Then there's easily room for two.

    Internet is with cable.

    The backyard is tiny but very sweet. I'm setting up an double futon to sleep outside just for fun. Our neighbourhood is multicultural and easy going, we are 5 minutes from a subway station, very well located for all amenities, and about 10 to 20 minutes bike ride to hip parts of town.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    I'm both highly sociable and introverted. Like a cat, I have my own rythm. I really like meeting new people and hosting, as long as people can make themselves comfortable and are happy being autonomous. I get unconfortable with anxious, shy people. I get along best with open, outgoing people that are confortable with their feelings and transparent about what they like, what they want and what they don't want. I dislike politeness insomuch as it makes everything unclear. I prefer honesty coupled with respect and consideration.

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?

    Two

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    I think that this setting is perfect for someone that wants to make him or herself at home in Montreal, work a little and go out and explore - or hang out at home.

    I enjoy cooking and I am quite good at it. I do both vegetarian and meat. I don't go out on the town and I wouldn't be much of a classical tour guide but you'd be welcomed to join in our family life. I'm good to share a drink with, watch a movie, I love to talk, there's a tennis court at the end of the street and a pool, I'd be up for hikes and yoga and stuff like that. I can lend my bike or get a second one for my guest(s). You can come watch a hockey game (both kids are on teams), throw a frisbee around, come skiing or sliding. My boyfriend has a huge piece of land in the eastern townships with a yurt, you could come with us on the weekends and explore the countryside, hike or bike.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album



Host ref number: 611667276711